how to move ooma box?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
ooster
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:59 am

how to move ooma box?

Post by ooster » Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:35 am

I have charter cable, the cable modem and my ooma box are in one room - but I want to move my computer and phone to another room. And I'm not allowed to run cables into that new room.

I have a usb wifi dongel for the computer - but what can I do with ooma? I can just use a cordless phone, but I like to have access to the VM on the ooma box.

I tried to just plug the ooma box into the ethernet jack on back of my computer, but it didn't work.


Is there another solution?

Thanks!

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: how to move ooma box?

Post by thunderbird » Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:49 am

ooster wrote:I have charter cable, the cable modem and my ooma box are in one room - but I want to move my computer and phone to another room. And I'm not allowed to run cables into that new room.

I have a usb wifi dongel for the computer - but what can I do with ooma? I can just use a cordless phone, but I like to have access to the VM on the ooma box.

I tried to just plug the ooma box into the ethernet jack on back of my computer, but it didn't work.


Is there another solution?

Thanks!
https://www.ooma.com/products/ooma-wireless-adapter

ooster
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:59 am

Re: how to move ooma box?

Post by ooster » Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:50 am

Sadly I have the earlier ooma device - and I don't think their USB dongle works with it.

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: how to move ooma box?

Post by highq » Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:38 pm

I've no experience with them, but look into "ethernet over powerline" adapters.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: how to move ooma box?

Post by lbmofo » Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:53 pm

I use D-Link DHP-303 and it works well with the Hub. I recommend it. ~$55 or so /viewtopic.php?t=14205#p99174
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply