Earthlink/at&t issue

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Umpire
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:43 am

Earthlink/at&t issue

Post by Umpire » Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:50 am

In Atlanta Ga. Eartlink dsl with AT&T phone. Ported number in with ooma, now no Internet or phone service. Ooma says need new ISP provider. EarthLink says they do not support without landline. Really dont want hassle of new Internet provider but may be forced to cable?

Any help appreciated.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Earthlink/at&t issue

Post by thunderbird » Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:29 am

Umpire wrote:In Atlanta Ga. Eartlink dsl with AT&T phone. Ported number in with ooma, now no Internet or phone service. Ooma says need new ISP provider. EarthLink says they do not support without landline. Really dont want hassle of new Internet provider but may be forced to cable?

Any help appreciated.
If your DSL Internet service is still active, try the following:

With power removed from the Modem, Ooma Telo, and Router:
Connect your Ooma Telo from your Modem to the Ooma Telo Internet port with a network cable.

Connect your Router's WAN port to the Ooma Telo's Home Port using a network cable.

Repower the Modem. When the Modem is done booting, repower the Ooma Telo. When the Ooma Telo is done booting, repower the Router.

If the Ooma Telo boots to the Red flashing Ooma symbol only, access Ooma Setup using a computer connected to the Router, by typing http://172.27.35.1 in the computer browser window. The Ooma Setup pages opens.

In the left menu click on the Internet tab. Following Connection type:, click on the down arrow and select PPPoE. Under PPPoE Options: fill in the blanks. If you don't have the User Name and Password, obtain it from the Internet provider.

Next go down to INTERNET Port MAC Address: and select Use Built In.

Click on the Update Device button.

Remove power from the Modem, Ooma Telo, and Router.

Repower the Modem. When the Modem is done booting, repower the Ooma Telo. When the Ooma Telo is done booting, repower the Router.


If you can't connect your Ooma Telo without having to have an EarthLink DSL land line, go to cable for your Internet service. Usually you will end up with much better service.

Umpire
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:43 am

Re: Earthlink/at&t issue

Post by Umpire » Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:40 am

Thank you. Did not work. Will seek cable. Any idea if Comcast is Ooma compatible?

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Earthlink/at&t issue

Post by murphy » Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:06 am

Umpire wrote:Thank you. Did not work. Will seek cable. Any idea if Comcast is Ooma compatible?
Ooma works fine with Comcast as long as you don't get their unadvertised economy service.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Earthlink/at&t issue

Post by thunderbird » Sun Aug 12, 2012 12:52 pm

Umpire wrote:Thank you. Did not work. Will seek cable. Any idea if Comcast is Ooma compatible?
One thing to remember, if you go to cable Internet service, If you changed the Interent connection in Ooma Setup to PPPoE, you have to go back into Ooma Setup and change Connection type: back to Automatic.

Post Reply