Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
auburngrad82
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:39 am

Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by auburngrad82 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:05 pm

I just upgraded Norton from Internet Security to Norton 360 and now I have a flashing red light on my Ooma. I suspect it may be firewall related after the upgrade but I'm not sure where to begin looking to see what might have changed. I have Windows 7 64-bit and Ooma has worked like a champ for several years now.

Any suggestions would be great.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:06 pm

The Ooma network has been down for a bit .. I think they're doing a network update.
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

auburngrad82
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:39 am

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by auburngrad82 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:24 pm

Thanks, I'll give it a while and see what happens. We've never noticed it go down like this before and I assumed because it followed the software upgrade that they were related.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:28 pm

auburngrad82 wrote:Thanks, I'll give it a while and see what happens. We've never noticed it go down like this before and I assumed because it followed the software upgrade that they were related.
Figures, doesn't it? You upgrade something and the whole network goes down!

Yep, still down here.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

I_Ooma_2
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:04 pm
Location: South suburbs of Chicago, IL

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by I_Ooma_2 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:46 pm

How come it isn't listed in the network status thread? I noticed my Telo flashing red the other day and initially thought my Comcast internet went out (Telo is an excellent tattle-tale for that) but discovered it was the Telo that could not connect to the server. I rebooted and it seemed to come back, and soon after I went to bed. When I got home today, once again it was flashing and rebooting didn't help.

I figured it might be dying but now it looks like they are having network problems... but nothing in the status thread. :?

FWIW, I have version 59485, which isn't even listed as a firmware release.

MsCoulter
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 7:54 pm

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by MsCoulter » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:47 pm

GRRRRRR....mine was flashing red too...I thought it went belly up but just came back on line again.

hamoper
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:54 pm

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by hamoper » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:18 pm

When my ooma tab is blinking red, this is an indication it is receiving software updates?? Mine has been blinking red for a few minutes on three occasions within the hour but then turns back to solid blue.... :?: :)

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Flashing red light after Norton 360 upgrade

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:20 pm

hamoper wrote:When my ooma tab is blinking red, this is an indication it is receiving software updates?? Mine has been blinking red for a few minutes on three occasions within the hour but then turns back to solid blue.... :?: :)
No. Ooma is having a network problem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply