Mystery MAC and second IP address

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Mystery MAC and second IP address

Post by murphy » Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:48 pm

Connect a computer configured for DHCP operation to the Home port.
Go to
http://setup.ooma.com
or if you use OpenDNS or a similar service
http://172.27.35.1

Go to the Internet page and report what the INTERNET Port MAC Address:
table has in it.

The Use Built in: radio button should be selected.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

mbrussell
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Mystery MAC and second IP address

Post by mbrussell » Mon Jul 30, 2012 10:51 am

murphy wrote:Connect a computer configured for DHCP operation to the Home port.
Go to
http://setup.ooma.com
or if you use OpenDNS or a similar service
http://172.27.35.1

Go to the Internet page and report what the INTERNET Port MAC Address:
table has in it.

The Use Built in: radio button should be selected.
Thank you Murphy! Mystery solved. The radio button was set to automatic and showed the COMPAL MAC. I changed it to use built in as suggested and I now only have the OOMA MAC on my network. I'm not sure why it was set to automatic, as I've never been in setup. Maybe some testing at the factory? I didn't buy a refurb, so it came to me that way from Office Max.

Thanks again to those of you with real advice for troubleshooting :)

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Mystery MAC and second IP address

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jul 30, 2012 11:26 am

mbrussell wrote:
murphy wrote:Connect a computer configured for DHCP operation to the Home port.
Go to
http://setup.ooma.com
or if you use OpenDNS or a similar service
http://172.27.35.1

Go to the Internet page and report what the INTERNET Port MAC Address:
table has in it.

The Use Built in: radio button should be selected.
Thank you Murphy! Mystery solved. The radio button was set to automatic and showed the COMPAL MAC. I changed it to use built in as suggested and I now only have the OOMA MAC on my network. I'm not sure why it was set to automatic, as I've never been in setup. Maybe some testing at the factory? I didn't buy a refurb, so it came to me that way from Office Max.

Thanks again to those of you with real advice for troubleshooting :)
Did you plug in a computer to Ooma's home port at any point? You don't own any computers/laptops with 88AE1D MAC? Acer Inc., Dell, Toshiba, Hewlett-Packard, and Fujitsu Siemens Computers are all possibilities. Computer's hardwired MAC is different from WiFi MAC.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

mbrussell
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:11 am

Re: Mystery MAC and second IP address

Post by mbrussell » Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:11 pm

lbmofo wrote: Did you plug in a computer to Ooma's home port at any point? You don't own any computers/laptops with 88AE1D MAC? Acer Inc., Dell, Toshiba, Hewlett-Packard, and Fujitsu Siemens Computers are all possibilities. Computer's hardwired MAC is different from WiFi MAC.
I have several devices on my network of various brands, but nothing was ever plugged into the OOMA Home Port to my knowledge. I didn't do it until yesterday and I doubt my wife or kids would have, but you never know :?:

Is the auto MAC setting the default, or the internal? Mine was on auto.

All is well now. Thanks again for the help...

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Mystery MAC and second IP address

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:15 pm

mbrussell wrote:
lbmofo wrote: Did you plug in a computer to Ooma's home port at any point? You don't own any computers/laptops with 88AE1D MAC? Acer Inc., Dell, Toshiba, Hewlett-Packard, and Fujitsu Siemens Computers are all possibilities. Computer's hardwired MAC is different from WiFi MAC.
I have several devices on my network of various brands, but nothing was ever plugged into the OOMA Home Port to my knowledge. I didn't do it until yesterday and I doubt my wife or kids would have, but you never know :?:

Is the auto MAC setting the default, or the internal? Mine was on auto.

All is well now. Thanks again for the help...
Automatic is default...Ooma spoofs MAC of whatever plugged into the Home Port so I was wondering....don't need to access setup.ooma.com for this thing to kick in...just need to have something plugged into the "Home Network" port. I suppose you can hunt down what device has this 88AE1D MAC ID by plugging it in hardwired to your router (turn off wifi of laptop for example when plugging in hardwired).
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Mystery MAC and second IP address

Post by murphy » Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:16 pm

A better name for the auto setting would be spoof.
It has been the default since at least 2009.
I think that they plan to make the built-in MAC the default in the future but I do not know when that will happen.
.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply