Will my fax really still work?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
sleepyheadkc
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:00 pm

Will my fax really still work?

Post by sleepyheadkc » Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:06 pm

We were gifted a Telo several months ago, but I've been hesitant to switch over to it because I'm afraid I'll lose my ability to fax. We have a Canon multifunction printer with fax capability (MX870), and my wife depends on occasional faxing -- both inbound and outbound -- for her business.

Am I being overly cautious here? What is the likelihood that Ooma won't be able to support our faxing capability?
Thanks

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Will my fax really still work?

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:08 pm

If you have it up and running, try it using dialing prefixes *99, *98.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

bmccollum
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:40 am

Re: Will my fax really still work?

Post by bmccollum » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:26 am

We've had an Ooma Telo for about 3 years now and have never had any issue faxing from one of several multi-function machines we've had in the house over that period of time. We don't even have to dial a prefix like *99 or *98 either. We just fax and it works, both incoming and outgoing. Good luck!

greened3
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:21 pm

Re: Will my fax really still work?

Post by greened3 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:05 am

I have an old Brother fax machine which I could not get to work with Ooma. I just tried again using the suggestion to add a pause after the *98 and was able to successfully connect to the HP fax line and received the fax response successfully.

Post Reply