Port & then reverse port?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
domm
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:38 am

Port & then reverse port?

Post by domm » Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:49 am

I am presently trying Ooma & if I like it I will port my phone number. I am wondering if it is possible to reverse the port back to my original phone company some time in the future if I'm not happy with Ooma? I am presently a Bell Canada customer.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Port & then reverse port?

Post by lbmofo » Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:00 pm

Yes, no problem. When porting out of Ooma, just need to work with your new carrier.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

domm
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:38 am

Re: Port & then reverse port?

Post by domm » Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:25 pm

lbmofo wrote:Yes, no problem. When porting out of Ooma, just need to work with your new carrier.
Thanks for all your replies lbmofo. It looks like you spend a lot of time helping newbies out. Are you an employe of Ooma?

OK, so back to the porting subject, just so I understand this porting thing correctly, I'm assuming the definition of porting means I can keep my present Bell Canada land line phone number by asking Ooma to move it over to Ooma if I ask them to? If I'm correct in my understanding of porting & I do bring my Bell Canada # over to Ooma what then happens with my Bell Canada account? Also is it guarantied that Bell Canada will be forced to port my number?

TPower
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Port & then reverse port?

Post by TPower » Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:42 pm

Call Bell Canada and ask them they should tell you.

domm
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:38 am

Re: Port & then reverse port?

Post by domm » Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:12 pm

TPower wrote:Call Bell Canada and ask them they should tell you.
I'm a little reluctant in calling Bell because I read from another poster that they may make it harder on me once they know they are losing me as a customer.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Port & then reverse port?

Post by lbmofo » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:41 pm

domm wrote:Are you an employe of Ooma?
No, just a big fan.
domm wrote:OK, so back to the porting subject, just so I understand this porting thing correctly, I'm assuming the definition of porting means I can keep my present Bell Canada land line phone number by asking Ooma to move it over to Ooma if I ask them to?
Yes.

In the Help Me section: http://ca.ooma.com/help-me Select "Choose a number" step and you can check whether your number is portable to Ooma.

To initiate the number port, go to the Add On section in your my.ooma.com https://my.ooma.com/products/addons_details/port
Once port initiated, just make sure you keep your landline active (don't make any feature changes to it either), and check your port status in my.ooma.com https://my.ooma.com/porting_status
domm wrote:If I'm correct in my understanding of porting & I do bring my Bell Canada # over to Ooma what then happens with my Bell Canada account? Also is it guarantied that Bell Canada will be forced to port my number?
If you only have 1 number in your account, your landline phone service would be automatically cancelled. However, it is a good idea to call them after the number is ported to Ooma to make sure they know to close your account.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply