internet dropping on lan pc

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Trinimd
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:51 am

internet dropping on lan pc

Post by Trinimd » Tue May 22, 2012 5:33 pm

Modem --> ooma --> Cisco Valet router --> PC

Pc will have internet for a few minutes and the drop

Reinstalled windows xp and same issue

All wireless laptops work fine

When I remove the lan wire from the pc and put it in the laptop it works
When I then put it in the pc it works for a few more minuts

any suggestions?
OOMA TELO 1 (Purchased Dec 2009.)
OOMA Telo 2 (Purchased Feb 2010.)
3 Ooma Handsets (Free from refer a friend) Sold all 3 POS on Ebay
2 GE ATT DECT 6.0
7 Uniden 1580 DECT 6.0
20 Refer A friends Completed


All Powered by one Phone Socket

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: internet dropping on lan pc

Post by thunderbird » Wed May 23, 2012 2:36 am

Trinimd wrote:Modem --> ooma --> Cisco Valet router --> PC

Pc will have internet for a few minutes and the drop

Reinstalled windows xp and same issue

All wireless laptops work fine

When I remove the lan wire from the pc and put it in the laptop it works
When I then put it in the pc it works for a few more minuts

any suggestions?
Reserve an IP address with a permanent lease, in you Router for the PC, for procedure reference your Router Manual.

Next setup the same IP address, that you reserved in your Router for the computer, in your computer, reference Microsoft article at http://www.microsoft.com/resources/docu ... x?mfr=true .
IP address is the same IP address number that you chose in your router for the computer.
Sub net mask is: 255.255.255.0
Dufault Gateway is the same IP number as you chose for the computer in your Router, except the last set of numbers is .1 Example xxx.xxx.xxx.1

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: internet dropping on lan pc

Post by lbmofo » Wed May 23, 2012 7:26 am

Trinimd, power cycling everything in your network should resolve the problem. Turn everything off, then power up starting from modem (remove battery backup if exists).

Also, make sure you do the "Built in MAC Address."

Optimal Setup:

If after Router - viewtopic.php?t=12403

If before Router - viewtopic.php?t=9536#p66155
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply