OOMA Upgrade Question

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by roadshow » Sun Sep 25, 2011 5:23 am

I currently have an OOMA Core System. I do not have Premier. I currently have caller id with name. I have one of the grandfathered units that have no annual taxes.

My question is this. If I upgrade to a Telo through OOMA, will I continue to have caller id with name? or will I lose the name and just see the number?

WJBertrand
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by WJBertrand » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:02 am

roadshow wrote:I currently have an OOMA Core System. I do not have Premier. I currently have caller id with name. I have one of the grandfathered units that have no annual taxes.

My question is this. If I upgrade to a Telo through OOMA, will I continue to have caller id with name? or will I lose the name and just see the number?
With the Telo, I just add the number to my contact list on-line and you can choose to display any caller ID name you like, within the limited number characters. My wife has a rather nosy friend who calls several times a day, including usually at dinner time. I have the caller ID and talking Panasonic phones showing / saying "Cindy Again". My non-technical wife is not amused, but she doesn't know that I can do that!
WJBertrand
Ventura, CA

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by roadshow » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:59 am

Thanks WJBertrand. I can think of some creative names for my callers too :)
However, I want to know if true Caller ID + Name will still work with the Telo because I have Core now, which works.

WJBertrand
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: Ventura, CA

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by WJBertrand » Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:49 am

roadshow wrote:Thanks WJBertrand. I can think of some creative names for my callers too :)
However, I want to know if true Caller ID + Name will still work with the Telo because I have Core now, which works.
Sorry, might depend on the phone? Ours show both the number and the name.
WJBertrand
Ventura, CA

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by roadshow » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:18 pm

My phone definitely supports it. But, Will OOMA honor the CNAME on the Telo because I already get it with Core on the Hub/Scout. Normally Telo only supports the name only with Premier.

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by roadshow » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:19 pm

Any Moderaters out there that might know?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by lbmofo » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:38 pm

roadshow, here is some info on this: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11143&start=40#p82527

Your Core distinct base service will be retained: VM Notification, Anonymous Call Block, Callier ID w/ Name.

If you want to upgrade, just ping ntoy or Bobby B or call into customer service and ask for a higher tier support.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: OOMA Upgrade Question

Post by roadshow » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:14 pm

Excellent. Thanks everyone for the help.

Post Reply