OOMA HANDSET

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
philw132
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:16 am

OOMA HANDSET

Post by philw132 » Sun Aug 21, 2011 2:53 pm

I just ordered the ooma handset to make use of the 2nd line feature, i plan on isolating the 2nd line completely to the handset.

i have a couple questions.

1.) once i do the setup, the rj11 port will only ring if the 1st line is being called, correct?

2.) will both lines share the same voice mail? i would very much like it to be separate.

thanks,
Phil
Customer Since: 4/6/10
Service/Hardware: Telo w/ bluetooth
Premier Expires: 6/02/12
Comcast Port: 4/15/10 - 5/17/10
Internet: Comcast Cable Top Speed Tier
Setup: Motorola SB6120 -> Cisco E3000 -> Telo
Phone: Vtech DECT 6.0 3-Handset / 1 Telo Handset

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: OOMA HANDSET

Post by murphy » Sun Aug 21, 2011 3:57 pm

philw132 wrote:I just ordered the ooma handset to make use of the 2nd line feature, i plan on isolating the 2nd line completely to the handset.

i have a couple questions.

1.) once i do the setup, the rj11 port will only ring if the 1st line is being called, correct?

2.) will both lines share the same voice mail? i would very much like it to be separate.

thanks,
Phil
1.) Correct.
2.) Each number will have it's own voicemail.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

philw132
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:16 am

Re: OOMA HANDSET

Post by philw132 » Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:45 pm

Fantastic, Thanks for the help!
murphy wrote:
philw132 wrote:I just ordered the ooma handset to make use of the 2nd line feature, i plan on isolating the 2nd line completely to the handset.

i have a couple questions.

1.) once i do the setup, the rj11 port will only ring if the 1st line is being called, correct?

2.) will both lines share the same voice mail? i would very much like it to be separate.

thanks,
Phil
1.) Correct.
2.) Each number will have it's own voicemail.
Customer Since: 4/6/10
Service/Hardware: Telo w/ bluetooth
Premier Expires: 6/02/12
Comcast Port: 4/15/10 - 5/17/10
Internet: Comcast Cable Top Speed Tier
Setup: Motorola SB6120 -> Cisco E3000 -> Telo
Phone: Vtech DECT 6.0 3-Handset / 1 Telo Handset

philw132
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:16 am

Re: OOMA HANDSET

Post by philw132 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:19 pm

I just got the ooma handset today, it was delayed a full week by UPS due to hurricane Irene. its not a big deal with a natural disaster you can give UPS a little slack. anyhow i just set it up and configured it so far i am very happy with it.. HOWEVER i am noticing the charger base is very very finicky about matting with the phone to get a good connection has anyone else experienced this?
Customer Since: 4/6/10
Service/Hardware: Telo w/ bluetooth
Premier Expires: 6/02/12
Comcast Port: 4/15/10 - 5/17/10
Internet: Comcast Cable Top Speed Tier
Setup: Motorola SB6120 -> Cisco E3000 -> Telo
Phone: Vtech DECT 6.0 3-Handset / 1 Telo Handset

User avatar
EA PA
Posts: 576
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 11:19 am

Re: OOMA HANDSET

Post by EA PA » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:20 am

Yes! I have the same issue. Complaints about the handset design is pretty thoroughly documented in the forum threads. It does take a bit of fiddling to set it - I agree. Design could be better. If you search on handset, you will finds lots of :x commentary....
Customer Since: 12/2010
Telecom Equipment: 1 Telo, 1 Handset, (4) Dect 6 Uniden DECT1580-4WXTPT
IN THE MONEY: 09/2011
Poor Legacy Carrier: Frontier

philw132
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:16 am

Re: OOMA HANDSET

Post by philw132 » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:28 am

Yeah, thats why i never bought a handset in the beginning because of the bad reviews on it. but i had a need to take advantage of the dedicated 2nd line / 2nd voicemail feature that you can only get with telo handsets.

I love the phone honestly, but the matting on the charger is my only complaint. As long as i train everyone not to assume its charging unless they see the blue LED its not a big deal.
EA PA wrote:Yes! I have the same issue. Complaints about the handset design is pretty thoroughly documented in the forum threads. It does take a bit of fiddling to set it - I agree. Design could be better. If you search on handset, you will finds lots of :x commentary....
Customer Since: 4/6/10
Service/Hardware: Telo w/ bluetooth
Premier Expires: 6/02/12
Comcast Port: 4/15/10 - 5/17/10
Internet: Comcast Cable Top Speed Tier
Setup: Motorola SB6120 -> Cisco E3000 -> Telo
Phone: Vtech DECT 6.0 3-Handset / 1 Telo Handset

Post Reply