voicemail question -- do you have this situation?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
ooma_thurman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:33 pm

voicemail question -- do you have this situation?

Post by ooma_thurman » Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:40 am

Hi.

I love my ooma, except for the following: Only 1 voicemail per line.

I am moving in with my girlfriend, and I'm bringing my ooma with me so that she can get rid of her home phone. The problem is that we have private lives, and we want separate voicemail boxes while utilizing the same ooma number. According to ooma, this is not available, so I'm looking for an alternative while using the ooma.

I've called voicemail companies, including evoice, and nobody seems to offer anything that would work, and this is somewhat shocking to me. eVoice does have separate boxes, but you have to call their number first, and then the vm gets transferred to the homephone, or in this case, the ooma.

We don't want to use an answering machine because of the poor quality in sound, no eMail notifications, and privacy if someone shall call while one of us is home and doesn't want to pick up. The other issue, as well, is that answering machines don't do well with call-waiting.

Thanks if you have suggestions.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: voicemail question -- do you have this situation?

Post by thunderbird » Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:52 am

ooma_thurman:
Make a gift of a second Ooma Telo to your girlfriend? :)

ooma_thurman
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2008 5:33 pm

Re: voicemail question -- do you have this situation?

Post by ooma_thurman » Sun Aug 07, 2011 12:04 pm

Wouldn't I have a 2nd number with a 2nd ooma, or am I missing something? We're trying to just have 1 phone number. :?:

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: voicemail question -- do you have this situation?

Post by thunderbird » Sun Aug 07, 2011 12:15 pm

ooma_thurman wrote:Wouldn't I have a 2nd number with a 2nd ooma, or am I missing something? We're trying to just have 1 phone number. :?:
Sorry, I just picked up on "The problem is that we have private lives,". ;)

bukzin
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 8:55 pm

Re: voicemail question -- do you have this situation?

Post by bukzin » Wed Aug 17, 2011 10:34 am

Maybe you could do what you are after with Google Voice?
Ooma Telo
box part # 110-0102-310
Premier service

no Telo handset (yet)

Post Reply