Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#84347 by bluetang
Fri Jul 15, 2011 12:08 am
I have been using my ooma telo for 8 months (with frequent sound issues: distorted voices and sound cutting out) but as of today my ooma is destroying the speed and latency of my internet connection. Normally, I have 15+Mbps down and 1.5 Mbps up but right now i am lucky if I can even get .5 Mbps and my latency is 1000+ms when the ooma is connected. And... If I plug my desktop directly into the ooma I cant even access the internet at all. Oddly enough I am still able to make and receive phone calls.

I am connected modem>router>ooma and I have tried modem>ooma>router and modem>ooma>desktop (no router) and they all work approximately the same (terrible or not at all). To make things even more confusing, after a while I gave up and reconnected everything as it was when the trouble started and the problem was gone.

A few hours later the issue started up again and I can't get to the advanced setup option to make any changes to my telo.

Any ideas?
#84348 by thunderbird
Fri Jul 15, 2011 2:51 am
bluetang:
First:
To help stabilize your Ooma Internet connection turn off MAC address Spoofing by doing the following:
If your Ooma device is connected Modem-Ooma-Router, access your Ooma Setup pages by typing http://172.27.35.1 in your computer browser window. The Ooma Setup pages open. Click on Internet, go down to INTERNET Port MAC Address: and change setting from Automatic to Use Built In. Click on Update device. Reboot your Modem, when the Modem is done booting reboot your Ooma device.