Ooma blocks wifi use of my Ipod touch

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
rwood01
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:53 am
Location: Southern California

Ooma blocks wifi use of my Ipod touch

Post by rwood01 » Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:58 am

I've been using the ooma for several months with no problems. I recently bought an Ipod touch and linked it up to my home wireless network. It shows that its connected and has full signal strength, but it doesn't connect to the internet. Last night I was sitting near the ooma box while trying to access the internet on the ipod when I heard the faint click sound from the ooma that signals it has lost connection. I looked and confirmed that the tab had turned red and ooma was off line. Then I noticed that my ipod was now surfing the net with no problem! So I enjoyed it while I could until I heard the click of the ooma and the tab was blue again, back online, and the surfing on the ipod had ended. It seems that they just cant get along and will not function at the same time. Has anybody seen anything similar? Any suggestions?

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma blocks wifi use of my Ipod touch

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Apr 10, 2009 8:56 am

Possibly your touch and ooma are sharing the same ip address. Check your Touch and ooma to see what ip they are using. Also check your router.

Wayne

lohertz
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Far West Burbs, Chicago

Re: Ooma blocks wifi use of my Ipod touch

Post by lohertz » Fri Apr 10, 2009 9:22 am

Interesting, what does your router say IP's are?

Where is your ooma, in front of, or behind the router?

rwood01
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:53 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Ooma blocks wifi use of my Ipod touch

Post by rwood01 » Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:09 pm

Unfortunately I'm at work and can't check the configuration of my ooma now. I remember I set it up just as instructed in the ooma manual. If I remember correctly it runs from the router to the ooma, then to my pc from the ooma. How do I check what IP my ooma is on?

Post Reply