Setting Up Fax

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Setting Up Fax

Post by southsound » Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:48 am

I'm not sure if it is the same on all Canon units but on my MFC-465CN the pause and the redial key are one in the same. It's right next to the number keypad.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Gerry810
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:47 am

Re: Setting Up Fax

Post by Gerry810 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:04 am

I have the same setup on my MX340, but never paid any attention to it. Now I know what that darned button is there for. Just sent another sample fax to my wife's machine, and for the first time I got a "transmitted" message in the little window--rather than the printed out error message. Called my wife, and sure enough it arrived. VICTORY!!!

Cannot thank you, and all the other forum members who responded, for your help.

murphy
Posts: 7238
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Setting Up Fax

Post by murphy » Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:50 am

Look at the legends for any and all keys. Usually one serves double duty to insert a pause.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

EFlores
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 7:46 pm

Re: Setting Up Fax

Post by EFlores » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:19 pm

I have had my Ooma system for a few years now and have had problems with faxing since the beginning, I have tried everything until I saw a few posts saying that a DSL Filter would be the solution, so I decided to buy a $3 filter from amazon.com to try it out, I connected it behind the Telo and plugged in the fax phone cord and tried it to see if I could finally send out faxes, and wallah! IT WORKED like a charm and continue to do so..... That was it, a DSL Filter did it for me.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Setting Up Fax

Post by thunderbird » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:04 am

*98 - Use G711 Codec w/o Fax mode (This is the mode that some of the other VoIP providers use for their FAXing).
*99 - Data/Fax call (Mode that Ooma uses).

This morning, using an Ooma Telo, I was trying to fax to the HP FAX test number 1-888-473-2963.

When I dialed *99 pause 1-888-473-2963, my faxes failed to transmitt every time.

But when I dialed *98 pause 1-888-473-2963, the FAX went through every time.

Within Five minutes a return fax will come back from the HP FAX test number 1-888-473-2963, to test the return side of your FAX.

Test FAXing using *98 to send a FAX and see if it works for you.

Post Reply