Sending fax with ooma

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
jschill9
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:19 pm

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by jschill9 » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:49 am

First Name:

Last Name:

Email:

Subject Product InfoBillingTechnical SupportInstallationUsing ooma

Topic Cannot Place CallsCannot Receive CallsHardware FailureVoicemailService QualityTechnical Specifications

Question: Ihave had no reply to my email regarding faxing sent yesterday.
It seems to methat you should have one comprehensive document outlining fax settings.
For over two weeks now I have been struggling with the problem and still continue to receive suggestions for setting uo my system. I discovered another one this AM about "fax mode" Unfortunately when I select "manage phone numbers" there is no fax mode listedSomebody at technical support is dropping the ball.

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by murphy » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:52 am

jschill9 wrote:First Name:

Last Name:

Email:

Subject Product InfoBillingTechnical SupportInstallationUsing ooma

Topic Cannot Place CallsCannot Receive CallsHardware FailureVoicemailService QualityTechnical Specifications

Question: Ihave had no reply to my email regarding faxing sent yesterday.
It seems to methat you should have one comprehensive document outlining fax settings.
For over two weeks now I have been struggling with the problem and still continue to receive suggestions for setting uo my system. I discovered another one this AM about "fax mode" Unfortunately when I select "manage phone numbers" there is no fax mode listedSomebody at technical support is dropping the ball.
hub or Telo?
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
jdorin
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:58 am
Location: Stone Mountain (Atlanta), GA

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by jdorin » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:39 pm

In an earlier post to this topic, oomg » Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:44 pm stated..

"IMHO, with the ability to attach a document to an email in PDF format, a fax machine is almost obsolete. However, there are occasions when I must use a fax to send or receive documents."

Just so other Forum participants can appreciate the importance of making FAXing work: I, too, MUST be able to FAX out -BECAUSE- my doctor's office says it doesn't have/use email :? , so when I have something to send there my only choices are:
1) driving it to the office
2) snailing it there
3) FAXing it there

..you can see why getting (outgoing) FAXing to work is important :!:

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by southsound » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:52 pm

I certainly agree with jdorin about the need for having a reliable fax. I recently had to fax 26 pages of medical history to a specialist's office. No option to email it. I have also been involved with some real estate transactions - again, they had email but wanted me to use my fax. I had a problem with the tax people in California (imagine that) when my wife's father passed. Again, the fax was all they would accept.

I should state that I have never tried using ooma for faxing although many on the forum have with varying levels of success. I believe it depends a lot on the machines at both ends as well as the settings on the sending end. Qwest requires a certain level of phone service to get my DSL at a special rate and the pair are cheaper than DSL alone until May. So my fax is connected to that landline until at least May. After that, I still may keep the basic line just for faxing. Reason for this post was just to agree with jdorin's need for a reliable fax solution.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

mthomtech
Posts: 317
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:46 pm
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by mthomtech » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:55 pm

jschill9 wrote:First Name:

Last Name:

Email:

Subject Product InfoBillingTechnical SupportInstallationUsing ooma

Topic Cannot Place CallsCannot Receive CallsHardware FailureVoicemailService QualityTechnical Specifications

Question: Ihave had no reply to my email regarding faxing sent yesterday.
It seems to methat you should have one comprehensive document outlining fax settings.
For over two weeks now I have been struggling with the problem and still continue to receive suggestions for setting uo my system. I discovered another one this AM about "fax mode" Unfortunately when I select "manage phone numbers" there is no fax mode listedSomebody at technical support is dropping the ball.
The biggest issue is that faxing depends on a lot of variables (your fax machine, it's settings, internet quality, etc). As murphy asked, do you have an Ooma Hub or Telo? The "enable fax mode" feature is really for receiving faxes ... you still need to dial *99 to send faxes. Does your fax machine have a "pause" button to add the pause after *99? The machine probably isn't recognizing your "--"

Give us more details:

Hub or Telo
Fax Machine
What exactly happens
Have you run a internet speed test, VOIP test to test your connection quality?
Ooma Customer since March 2009
Ooma Hardware: Hub/Scout(2) and Telo
Premier Member

oomg
Posts: 593
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 3:59 am
Location: SoCal -- L.A.

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by oomg » Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:27 pm

jdorin wrote:In an earlier post to this topic, oomg » Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:44 pm stated..

"IMHO, with the ability to attach a document to an email in PDF format, a fax machine is almost obsolete. However, there are occasions when I must use a fax to send or receive documents."

Just so other Forum participants can appreciate the importance of making FAXing work: I, too, MUST be able to FAX out -BECAUSE- my doctor's office says it doesn't have/use email :? , so when I have something to send there my only choices are:
1) driving it to the office
2) snailing it there
3) FAXing it there

..you can see why getting (outgoing) FAXing to work is important :!:


I do understand, and appreciate your concerns. I am just offering what I believe to be a viable (i.e. reliable and inexpensive) alternative to using a traditional fax maching. For my purporses, even if I only needed to fax 10-20 pages per month, the $2.95 monthly cost of OneSuite's service outweighs the hassle of a traditional fax machine. If one needs a fax to receive only, OneSuite's $1 per month incoming only service costs less than the consumable items needed for a traditional fax machine. And, they give the subscriber a dedicated fax number. Since incoming faxes are in a pdf format, they can be printed (if and as needed), archived, or forwarded directly or as an email attachment to multiple recipients. What's not to love?
oomg -- Voice Over Internet Person

I've learned a lot here... two months ago I didn't even know how to spell VOIP and now I are one.

jschill9
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:19 pm

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by jschill9 » Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:57 am

HUB
murphy wrote:
jschill9 wrote:First Name:

Last Name:

Email:

Subject Product InfoBillingTechnical SupportInstallationUsing ooma

Topic Cannot Place CallsCannot Receive CallsHardware FailureVoicemailService QualityTechnical Specifications

Question: Ihave had no reply to my email regarding faxing sent yesterday.
It seems to methat you should have one comprehensive document outlining fax settings.
For over two weeks now I have been struggling with the problem and still continue to receive suggestions for setting uo my system. I discovered another one this AM about "fax mode" Unfortunately when I select "manage phone numbers" there is no fax mode listedSomebody at technical support is dropping the ball.
hub or Telo?

Dubtak
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by Dubtak » Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:15 pm

*99 works, the problem you need a 3 sec pause for the OOMA to register the code. If the pause is not present, then the first few digits of the number you are dialing are truncated.

Now, what I can't remember is what buttons to dial to request # or *? Anyone out there remember the old Hayes Modem command for pause? I thought it was a comma but how do you do that on the fax?

Until then,

:D

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by murphy » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:23 pm

Dubtak wrote:*99 works, the problem you need a 3 sec pause for the OOMA to register the code. If the pause is not present, then the first few digits of the number you are dialing are truncated.

Now, what I can't remember is what buttons to dial to request # or *? Anyone out there remember the old Hayes Modem command for pause? I thought it was a comma but how do you do that on the fax?

Until then,

:D
It is a comma in the Hayes modem spec.
The manual for the fax machine should tell you what button to press to insert a pause into the dial string.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Sending fax with ooma

Post by tommies » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:38 pm

My almost antique fax machine (Brother brand) has a button just for pause to the right of the key pad.
tommies

Post Reply