Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
matthewalb
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:46 am

Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Post by matthewalb » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:50 am

I tried using Ooma with freeconferencecall.com's conference call service, which we use at the nonprofit I work with. It is a land number you call, but was very glitchy. It would not allow me to get into my call because the code kept doubling numbers. If the code was 22256, I'd enter that, but the system would say I entered, 222225566. Very odd. This may be a deal breaker for me, as I have to be able to call into these services. Any input on making this work? Or is it a known issue? I know Skype also has trouble with these services, but thought Ooma might be better.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Post by lbmofo » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:56 am

The other system maybe having issues deciphering dtmf properly. Try to call in using prefix *98 to see if it makes any difference.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

matthewalb
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:46 am

Re: Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Post by matthewalb » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:58 am

Do I use *98 before I dial the number as I regularly would? Thanks, I'll try it.

matthewalb
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:46 am

Re: Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Post by matthewalb » Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:02 am

Ok, this sadly did not work. Any other suggestions?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Post by lbmofo » Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:03 am

*98 will give you a fresh dialtone and then dial the number as usual.

Try *99, this will give you some echo possibly.

Other thing to try, without any prefix dialing (regular dialing), try to press number keys with longer duration.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

matthewalb
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:46 am

Re: Using Ooma with conference call service not working

Post by matthewalb » Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:56 am

Brilliant, *99 worked. Thanks! Whew...

Post Reply