TV screen caller id

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
chiefjim
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 4:00 pm

TV screen caller id

Post by chiefjim » Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:47 pm

Cable company touts this as a reason to use their service. Can Ooma be configured to do so as well?

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: TV screen caller id

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:20 pm

I have Direct TV and if I plug the Direct TV box into the ooma hub phone port (using a splitter so I can also connect a phone) caller ID appears on the tv screen when a call comes in.
Cable should work the same.
Wayne

User avatar
skellener
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 12:00 pm
Location: So. Cal.
Contact:

Re: TV screen caller id

Post by skellener » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:59 pm

WayneDsr is correct. Works fine with DirecTV Caller ID by using a splitter.

BCNeuman
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:53 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: TV screen caller id

Post by BCNeuman » Sun Apr 05, 2009 12:59 pm

Works fine with DISH network also.

scots
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 6:26 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC
Contact:

Re: TV screen caller id

Post by scots » Wed Apr 08, 2009 9:56 am

The problem with the cable company is that no cable set-top boxes have phone jacks on them that I'm aware of. The caller ID on TV that the cable company advertises is only for the cable company's phone service, and I'm guessing the caller ID info is sent over the coax to the set-top box. There's no way that I know of to integrate any cable company's set-top box with ooma or any other phone service other than the cable company's own phone service.

Post Reply