Porting out number and replacing with a new number

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
gregg098
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:01 pm

Porting out number and replacing with a new number

Post by gregg098 » Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:12 pm

I recently moved and want to add a new local number and port out my current primary number. Im not worried about getting a new number, but what happens to my account if the primary number gets ported out?

Ely
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:28 pm
Location: Miami
Contact:

Re: Porting out number and replacing with a new number

Post by Ely » Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:44 pm

Do you have more than one number on your Ooma account? If you port out the primary, they will probably move the secondary number to replace your ported out primary, thus becoming your account's new login user ID, If you do not have a secondary number at this point they most likely give you a default system generated number or something around those lines, now this is all my guessing, other more knowledgeable members here could perhaps enlighten you more.

When I ported IN my number I had two numbers on the account, the one that was primary, simply disappeared from my account and my new ported in number became primary, so I'm using that logic in reverse :D .
System: Ooma Telo
Mbps: 68 Down / 12 Up
PING TIME: 5Ms
Modem>Router>Telo
===========================
Eli Linares @
http://www.realact.net
===========================

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Porting out number and replacing with a new number

Post by lbmofo » Sat Apr 16, 2011 3:48 pm

In order to have 2 numbers, you need to be Premier.
If the number you want to port out is the primary number, call into Ooma customer service to swap your 2ndary and primary.
Porting out 2nd number won't impact your Ooma account.
If you are porting out the only number in your Ooma account, your Ooma account will be deactivated as an result and you'll have to pay reactivation fee if you want to turn on Ooma service again.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply