Faxing

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
kblgy
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

Faxing

Post by kblgy » Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:23 am

hi, i have been faxing for a bit know and yesterday for the first time i was too recieve a fax from the doctors office. they tried many times but it never went threw. i got the first line line of the fax most of the time and thats all. i do have faxing enabled on my lines but that didn't help. any sugjestions?

gallagherjohna
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:34 am

Re: Faxing

Post by gallagherjohna » Tue Apr 05, 2011 9:40 am

same thing happening to me, I know that the fax machines have a harder time with the voip systems, and that you need a dsl filter if you are using dsl, first I got my old machine working, now I have a new one with wireless printing, scanning, copy etc, and the HP8500A Plus keeps having error messages pop up. Called the lab company I use(I'm a housecall vet, and they talked me through it), but it looks like it is not going to work, they are sending me a new fax machine to try today

Sunshine
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:56 am

Re: Faxing

Post by Sunshine » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:54 pm

I have an hp 4500 and can not get it to fax. It dials the number, connects, and says it is sending page 1 then it says fax failed. Any suggestions.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Faxing

Post by lbmofo » Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:02 pm

Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Sunshine
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:56 am

Re: Faxing

Post by Sunshine » Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:24 pm

Tried both ways *99 and enabling FAX MODE.

User avatar
tomcat
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:32 pm

Re: Faxing

Post by tomcat » Wed Apr 06, 2011 5:45 pm

Sunshine: Have you tried disabling “ECM” (i.e., “Error Correction Mode”) on your fax machine and/or reducing the baud rate to 9600. This has been suggested in other threads.

Sunshine
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:56 am

Re: Faxing

Post by Sunshine » Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:31 am

Yes I have tried both still fax failed. When fax is hooked up to a land line which is still cable it works fine.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Faxing

Post by lbmofo » Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:39 am

Hi Sunshine, I am thinking you have your Ooma behind your router now? If so, have you tried Ooma in front of router to see if it makes any difference?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Sunshine
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 7:56 am

Re: Faxing

Post by Sunshine » Thu Apr 07, 2011 11:48 am

I have the ooma to internet hooked to the cable modem and the ooma home network hooked to the cable modem in on the router. The fax machine will receive but will not complete a send. Is anyone using a HP 4500 and sending faxes? Also cany you tell me which fax machine does work with the ooma telo. Does the epson workforce 610 work?

Post Reply