Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#77696 by Venkatrr
Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:22 pm
Hi,

I searched the user forum for this similar problem and could not come across one. Hence posting it here.

I have been using ooma for the past 3 months and the call quality is excellent. The ooma telo i have connected next to cox modem and before the router. I was using vonage before and did number porting from vonage to ooma.

When i call a vonage customer initially the phone rings at the far end. The far side picks up the handset and quips hello. For about first 10 seconds I do not hear anything while the far side is able to hear what i say. After about 10 seconds, i get the line and both are able to hear each other and conversations continue without any issues.

Problem statement - calls from my ooma system to local (480) numbers has this above problem. For all calls to vonage customers outside of 480 numbers the calls do not have this problem. All other local and remote carrier calls are working perfectly fine.

When i called ooma, the support person, checked the regular stuff and made me connect the telo behind the modem. It did not resolve but the call was disconnected after 40 minutes.

Second time, I called ooma for this and the support person told me that problem is in the vonage side and they have to remove some entry for my home phone number in vonage tables. I called vonage and they said, I am not a vonage customer anymore and they have nothing that they can do for me.
#77698 by EA PA
Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:32 pm
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=10897&start=0

Strangely familiar. I have had the exact same symptoms to cell phones. Recently, the problem seems to have been resolved. I recommend contacting Bobby B or NToy via email. I am not sure its completely resolved, but definitely behaving better than before. Try *98 also
#77705 by lbmofo
Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:56 pm
Venkatrr wrote:Thanks EA PA and ntoy.