Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#75422 by Jerald
Thu Feb 17, 2011 7:15 pm
I have been using Ooma with really no problems for almost two years. I have been thinking of switching to DSL Extreme hoping for better lasting speeds and much better pricing than my current AT&T DSL.
Anyone else using DSL Extreme and happy with the results?
#75498 by czooma
Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:56 am
To answer your question: yes.

I have an ATT landline (north Orange County, CA) with DSL Extreme 3000/512 service on it. I've had DSL Extreme for about 5 years. Before that, I had ATT DSL service (I think it was called SBC Global back then), and was unhappy with it because every couple of weeks it would drop down to the lower speed tier, and I'd have to call them and have them fix it. Also, the speed only ran at full rate some of the time, although it was always within the stated range (it acted like cable service where it slows down when everyone comes home from work).

With DSL Extreme, I have lower ping times, it always runs at full speed, and I never have problems with it. So I've stayed with them. It's just rock solid.

ATT dry loop DSL would be cheaper, especially with their current promotions, but like I said, I wasn't happy with the performance.

Here's my setup: Speedstream DSL modem --> Ooma Core --> PIX 501 router. My ATT landline plugs into the Ooma "wall" port, and the Ooma seems to know to switch over to it during a power outage.

The Ooma service works beautifully with my setup.

I have the cheapest measured local phone service that ATT offers for my landline.

My current costs are as follows (prices include all taxes and fees): ATT landline $20.62/month. DSL Extreme $27.83/month. Ooma $0.00/month.