Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Studly
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:41 pm

Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by Studly » Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:47 pm

I just signed up for Ooma and my area code in suburban Minneapolis, 952, is not on the list of available area codes. I called customer support and the guy said to sign up for a # in a neighboring area code and he would have Ooma find a # in my desired 952 area code and he'd call me the next day to confirm. Of course, he never called and my number is still in the neighboring area code. If I call support back (which I dread because of the long hold times) will they likely be able to find me a number in this heavily populated area code or am I just wasting my time? Thanks for your help.

Pandora
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:01 pm

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by Pandora » Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:34 pm

Good luck getting your number. It seems some areas are not covered.

Ooma provides a service off the home page to check on number availability before purchase.

I think that is to help avoid situations like this.

koehn
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:57 am

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by koehn » Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:51 pm

I'm in 952, and I was able to port my number, if that's any consolation.

For calling support, I recommend calling the minute they open (11 am CT), the waits aren't as long then.

Studly
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by Studly » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 am

Thanks for the replies and thanks for the tip on when to call.

Yes, I checked that area code availability feature on the Ooma Website, but it said to call support when it didn't find any in my area code. It did say it could port my existing 952 #, but would like a different # in that area code for now.

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by tommies » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:31 am

Studly wrote:Yes, I checked that area code availability feature on the Ooma Website, but it said to call support when it didn't find any in my area code. It did say it could port my existing 952 #, but would like a different # in that area code for now.
It's not that easy. Tel numbers are assigned to telco in block(I believe in the form (xxx) yyy-****), and it cost money. I'm lucky to have on local number(and my local calling area spans 3 different area codes)

Local bell and cell phone corp. have grabbed most of of them.
tommies

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by Bobby B » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:09 am

If a number in a particular calling area is not available -- Sometimes telephone numbers can be ordered at no charge. I'd call into support and they can check if it would be possible.
Bobby B

Studly
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by Studly » Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:12 am

Just talked to support again today, and they now say they are temporarily out of #s in that area code. They are supposed to call me when numers in that area code are available again.

Studly
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 5:41 pm

Re: Area code 952 not listed as an option ... can they fix that?

Post by Studly » Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:13 am

As an update, I see now on Ooma's web site that they are promoting that you can get a number in any calling area, and I checked my 952 area code, and they have a number there. So they're making progress. I recommend anyone who doesn't have a # in their preferred area to call Ooma support and get one.

Post Reply