Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
evans229
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:52 am

Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by evans229 » Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:59 am

I have bought 3 telo handsets for my house. I have used the contact list software provided. I have many contacts. I am finding it takes me longer to scroll down to my contact , high light it, and press dial than it does to tap out the numbers. I was looking for a quick-dial function like I have had on all my previous handset phones for the numbers I use regularly, and can not find any reference to it i the documentation. I can not find it in the Q& A help section...Maybe it is called something else, but I do not know. I can not believe this function is missing. Can anyone help me please?

murphy
Posts: 7240
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by murphy » Sat Jan 15, 2011 8:15 am

Select the Contact list (right arrow).
Start pressing the keys that spell the name you are looking for.
It shouldn't take many key presses to zero in on the name that you want.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Layna
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:48 pm

Re: Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by Layna » Wed Jan 19, 2011 8:22 pm

Looking for a cordless with speed-dial to hit one digit and get the number programed to that digit like the desk-set I have, which is not happening with the Ooma device. Seems as if the Ooma Telo is a slow process for speed-dial. The sound is good on my Thompson but none of the features work. Looking for a phone with the added features and good sound. Anyone know of such a phone that is compatible with Ooma? Thanks.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:31 pm

Doesn't seem like the model I pointed out in the other thread has 1 touch dialing.
viewtopic.php?t=9042&p=63027#p63031
But others out in the market have this feature:
http://telephones.att.com/att/index.cfm ... uctID=1452
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by EricJRW » Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:23 am

murphy wrote:Select the Contact list (right arrow).
Start pressing the keys that spell the name you are looking for.
It shouldn't take many key presses to zero in on the name that you want.
My Panasonic cordless has that feature and I like it.
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by Bobby B » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:50 am

For speed dial - select the number your contact list (press right arrow key), and press the "Menu" button and choose "Add speed dial..."

Afterwards, you can press and hold that number to speed dial, or goto "Menu->Speed Dial"
Bobby B

User avatar
EricJRW
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:00 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Ooma Telo handset...Quick dial

Post by EricJRW » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:45 am

Bobby B wrote:For speed dial - select the number your contact list (press right arrow key), and press the "Menu" button and choose "Add speed dial..."

Afterwards, you can press and hold that number to speed dial, or goto "Menu->Speed Dial"
Cool!
ooma hub with one scout (looking to add at least one more)
Premier Service (I was not expecting to do this, but I love the Premier features)
Panasonic KX-TG4024 (w/ 4 handsets)
Customer since November 2010
Internet access: FiOS 15/5

Post Reply