Ooma with wi-fi internet

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Ooma with wi-fi internet Procedure

Post by thunderbird » Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:07 am

Since I hadn’t actually connected an Ooma Telo to a WiFi network, This morning I tested using my home’s WiFi network, a computer, and the Ooma Telo. First since I use a static IP address in my Ooma Telo’s network settings, I went into the Ooma Setup than selected Network, than after Network Setup: I de-selected “Static IP Address” and selected “Automatic”. Than I selected “Update” at the bottom of the page. After configuring my Ooma Telo, I ran a patch cable from my computer’s wired LAN adapter port, to the Ooma Telo Internet port. After right clicking on the My Network Places icon and selecting properties, I right clicked on the Wireless Connection icon and selected properties. I than selected the Advanced tab at the top of the Wireless Network Connection Properties window. Under “Internet Connection Sharing”, I placed a check mark in the box located in front of “Allow other network users to connect through this computer’s Internet connection” and selected Okay at the bottom of the window. I restarted my computer, after which I did a cold boot of the Ooma Telo. I tested the setup using my cell phone. Everything worked fine the first time. I have Microsoft Windows XP installed on the computer I used. Other Microsoft Windows operating systems setups are similar.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Ooma with wi-fi internet

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:03 pm

Worked great for me with Windows 7. Had no quality issues at all. This is a great find for me. Never thought about it.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

gail
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Ooma with wi-fi internet

Post by gail » Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:11 am

I have read that a D-link makes a device which can be set up either as an access point or a bridge, but I have no first hand knowledge about it.

NN5i, your explanation about access points and bridges was the best I have ever seen (I finally "got it"). Thank you.

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma with wi-fi internet

Post by murphy » Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:41 am

I have an old SMC2870 (802.11g) that can be an access point or a bridge. It came with two versions of firmware. What it was depended on which version of the firmware that was loaded into it. The utility cd asked what you wanted and then installed the appropriate firmware.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Ooma with wi-fi internet

Post by nn5i » Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:01 am

gail wrote:I have read that a D-link makes a device which can be set up either as an access point or a bridge, but I have no first hand knowledge about it.

NN5i, your explanation about access points and bridges was the best I have ever seen (I finally "got it"). Thank you.
Wow, thanks for the good words. Some say that talking is the only thing I'm good at. They're wrong, of course.

gail
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Ooma with wi-fi internet

Post by gail » Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:28 am

NN5i:

Obviously ! ;)

Post Reply