Vonage to Ooma

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
mikemc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: Virginia

Vonage to Ooma

Post by mikemc » Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:36 pm

Not sure if this is the place for this (didn't have any luck on the Vonage forums) - I'm in the process of switching from Vonage to Ooma and have my port set to complete tomorrow. Just curious if anyone in a similar situation had any issues actually canceling their Vonage account after the port completed? I've looked online and read some horror stories, but they are all from threads over 4 years old. Just looking for feedback or tips to help complete the transition to Ooma.

Thanks in advance,
Mike

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by lbmofo » Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:45 pm

I had a friend do the same. Once port is done, just call Vonage to make sure your account is cancelled.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7206
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by murphy » Wed Nov 24, 2010 3:53 am

mikemc wrote:Not sure if this is the place for this (didn't have any luck on the Vonage forums) - I'm in the process of switching from Vonage to Ooma and have my port set to complete tomorrow. Just curious if anyone in a similar situation had any issues actually canceling their Vonage account after the port completed? I've looked online and read some horror stories, but they are all from threads over 4 years old. Just looking for feedback or tips to help complete the transition to Ooma.

Thanks in advance,
Mike
My Vonage account canceled automatically about three days after the port completed. However I had to call them to get my number removed from their number database. It was in there as a disconnected number which meant that anyone that was on Vonage couldn't call me.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

mikemc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by mikemc » Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:22 am

murphy wrote:My Vonage account canceled automatically about three days after the port completed. However I had to call them to get my number removed from their number database. It was in there as a disconnected number which meant that anyone that was on Vonage couldn't call me.
Thanks Murphy. I'll monitor it and see if that happens for me as well. I've been reading stories where Vonage was charging a $79.99 fee on top of the $39.99 cancellation fee. Just trying to prep myself if I need to fight those charges.

Thanks again for the help.

kblgy
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by kblgy » Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:22 am

my vonage account was canceled the same day it ported. i;m happy the port went through or else i'd had some problems ...

also those fee's are if your either in a contract yr (first yr of service) or if you order bye the yr i hear they charge you also ... not sure that one ..

borisgoodenough
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:44 am

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by borisgoodenough » Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:49 am

I had one problem worth mentioning: after the port was completed and my Vonage account cancelled, other Vonage subscribers received a "this number is no longer in service" message when they called my former Vonage (new Ooma) number. It took a call to Vonage tech support and 48 hours to correct the problem. Suggest you have another Vonage subscriber try calling you once your port is complete.

dclark61
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:17 am

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by dclark61 » Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:24 am

Glad I found this thread. I currently have an Ooma Basic subscription with an Ooma Telo.

I'd like to add a second line for my wife, and port her Vonage number to the second line.

So my understanding is that I require an Ooma Premier subscription, and an Ooma Telo Handset.

When I add-on Ooma Premier, should I select the "+ Free Handset" option, or the "+ Free Port" option, or does it matter?

Once my Premier subscription is setup, will the second line be associated with my current phone number, or a new temporary phone number?

When I want to port the Vonage number to the second line, do I just go to Add-Ons/Number Port and enter the Vonage number? If so, will I be given the option of associating the ported number to the second line? I want to avoid accidently replacing my current phone number on the first line with the ported number.

I'm also a bit confused by this description of "Personal Number":

"With Ooma Premier, choose a second number anywhere in the US. Decide whether you want your number to ring and leave voicemail on all phones or just your personal Ooma device. You can choose up to nine numbers (additional monthly fee applies)."

Does this mean that if your Instant Second Line has a different number than your first line, you need to pay an additional fee, and if so, what is that fee?

Thanks in advance for your help.

careyd
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:10 am

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by careyd » Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:16 am

So, I'm switching from Vonage to Ooma after 5.5 years on Vonage. Setup and Activated Telo yesterday. Signed up for Premiere and initiated the port of my number from Vonage. Currently tested, working with a temp number.

Received email this morning saying:
------
Your porting order has been updated with an estimated completion date of 12-17-2010. Note that this date is an estimate. A second notification will be sent when your phone company has confirmed the date of transfer.
------

Here is my question for recent switchers:
How does your actual experience compare with this estimate? Faster? Slower?

Eager to get the transition completed ASAP
(and I will make sure to monitor the issue reported with incoming Vonage callers getting the disconnection notice).

Thanks!

kblgy
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by kblgy » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:48 pm

FOR ME IT WAS THE SAME DAY AND I SWITCHED FROM VONAGE ALSO..

careyd
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:10 am

Re: Vonage to Ooma

Post by careyd » Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:23 pm

KBLGY-
Do you mean the same day you submitted it or the same day in the estimate?

Thanks!

Post Reply