Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
FauxPas
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:09 pm

Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by FauxPas » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:04 pm

When I try to add a third number I can never get to the "Manage Phone Numbers" page. When I click on "Add a new number" it kind of loads half a page which then hangs (permanently).
I'm using Firefox 3.6.8 and have tried clearing my cache, history, cookies and then restarting.
Anyone have any ideas?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by bw1 » Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:54 am

This looks like the same problem they were having with the blacklist screen.

ntoy

Re: Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by ntoy » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:49 am

Hello,

Your account shows premier trial is active & there's an order for annual premier in pending state.
You have 2 numbers on your account. To add a thrid, you can go to:

Add-Ons>Personal Number to purchase.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by bw1 » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:44 am

Norm,

It's not working on my account either (Firefox 3.6.8). Selecting "Add a new phone number" or "Add a personal device" results in a pop up window that first populates with a copy of the main screen and then the entire page goes blank and says at the bottom "Transferring data from ssl.google-analytics.com..."

This appears to be similar to the recent issue with adding to the Blacklists.

ntoy

Re: Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by ntoy » Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:58 am

Thanks bw1!

Will throw it over to our developers to look at.

ntoy

Re: Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by ntoy » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:33 pm

Bug9065 has been filed for this.

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Premier Service but Can't Add Number

Post by Bobby B » Mon Aug 02, 2010 10:56 am

This should be fixed now - please let us know if you have any issues adding a number or personal device.
Bobby B

Post Reply