Ooma Release notes

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
OldMacGuy
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:13 pm

Ooma Release notes

Post by OldMacGuy » Sat May 29, 2010 4:35 am

There was a posting on Monday May 24 that listed a large number of changes under Telo Release version 37410.

Are these changes all new and is an existing Ooma Telo Unit automatically updated or do I have to do something to receive the update?

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by murphy » Sat May 29, 2010 4:44 am

Updates are automatic. There is nothing that you can do to force one. They can't update everyone at the same time so when your box is scheduled to update it will happen. If you see the lights on your box start to flash, do not try to fix it. If you interrupt it at just the wrong time, you can turn it into a brick.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

OldMacGuy
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:13 pm

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by OldMacGuy » Sun May 30, 2010 6:47 am

Is there any way to determine what version of the Ooma update is on my Telo unit.

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by murphy » Sun May 30, 2010 7:05 am

OldMacGuy wrote:Is there any way to determine what version of the Ooma update is on my Telo unit.
If you have a Telo handset, it's on the information screen.
Otherwise from a computer connected to the Home port or to a router that is connected to the Home port connect to

http://setup.ooma.com

and go to the Status page.
The revision level is at the top of the page.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

huggybear
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:46 am

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by huggybear » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:11 am

Hi,
I have tried the link previously posted: http://setup.ooma.com and it won't open. I keep getting an error message. I cannot find anywhere it says my "Status" & I would like to know what version Telo I have and have no clue how to find that information.
Thanks!

huggybear
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:46 am

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by huggybear » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:12 am

Per previous post: I don't have a Telo Handset.
Thanks!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by Groundhound » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:18 am

huggybear wrote:Hi,
I have tried the link previously posted: http://setup.ooma.com and it won't open. I keep getting an error message. I cannot find anywhere it says my "Status" & I would like to know what version Telo I have and have no clue how to find that information.
Thanks!
From a computer connected to the Telo's home network port, if the above link does not work try 172.27.35.1
If the computer has a wireless card make sure it is deactivated so that only your wired connection to the Telo is active.

huggybear
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:46 am

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by huggybear » Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:25 am

I'm sorry Groundhound, I have no idea what you're talking about. Don't know where to put the numbers 172.27.35.1
And to deactivate my wireless card from my computer would take someone Much more computer literate than me.
Not your fault, but why the heck can't they just put the version on the bottom of the Telo or something? That would
make way too much sense, right?
Thanks anyway!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by Groundhound » Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:08 am

You put the numbers in the address bar of your browser. If you don't know if your computer uses a wireless connection then it probably doesn't, so just connect the Ethernet wire between your computer and the Telo's home network port and restart your computer, then open your browser and first try http://setup.ooma.com, and if that does not work try http://172.27.35.1.
They don't put the firmware version on the bottom of the Telo because it frequently changes with service upgrades & fixes.

huggybear
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:46 am

Re: Ooma Release notes

Post by huggybear » Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:23 am

Ok, I guess I'm just dumber than dumb. I give up as nothing works for me and getting my Telo version is not worth going crazy over, right?
Thanks anyway! I appreciate your efforts on my behalf.

Post Reply