Telo locked up - No Internet passing

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
Morpheus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:35 am

Telo locked up - No Internet passing

Post by Morpheus » Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:21 pm

Came home to my Telo having a solid red Ooma logo on the Telo and the 1 and 2 only on. My connection is as follows:

Cable Modem -> Telo -> Router -> Home Network

Doing nothing I can access my Router and my other internal network items with no problem, but I'm unable to access the Telo setup page.

I unplug my Telo from my Router and Cable Modem and run a direct connect from my Cable Modem to my Router. I go into my Router and renew my DHCP setting and it grabs an IP from the cable modem and I'm now on the Internet with no problems.

I now reconnect my Telo to the Cable Modem and Router. I turn off my cable Modem, Router, and Telo. I now power on my Cable Modem and allow it to come back fully. I now turn on my Telo and it boots normally (all good), and I finally plug back in my Router and renew the DHCP and it grabs an IP and I'm now back on the Internet and able to receive calls.

If it's not the handsets on a black screen it's the Telo locked up!

Do I need to replace the Telo?

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Telo locked up - No Internet passing

Post by murphy » Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:01 pm

Connect to the Telo setup page http://setup.ooma.com and go to the network page. Click the radio button for "Use built in MAC address and then click update. Power cycle the modem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Morpheus
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 8:35 am

Re: Telo locked up - No Internet passing

Post by Morpheus » Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:06 pm

I've previously setup my Telo like this:
Change Ooma from Automatic to Use DHCP.
Change Ooma to use built-in MAC address.
Set the starting IP address for the Ooma DHCP server to issue at 172.27.35.2
Set the ending IP address for the Ooma DHCP server to issue at 172.27.35.2
Set the Ooma DMZ IP address to 172.27.35.2

Turn modem, Ooma, Router off.
Turn on modem and wait for sync with ISP.
Turn on Ooma and wait for boot up completion.
Turn on router.
Verified the above is still correct.

Do I still need to?
Connect to the Telo setup page http://setup.ooma.com and go to the network page. Click the radio button for "Use built in MAC address and then click update. Power cycle the modem.
Thanks...

murphy
Posts: 7174
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Telo locked up - No Internet passing

Post by murphy » Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:51 am

Morpheus wrote:I've previously setup my Telo like this:
Change Ooma from Automatic to Use DHCP.
Change Ooma to use built-in MAC address.
Set the starting IP address for the Ooma DHCP server to issue at 172.27.35.2
Set the ending IP address for the Ooma DHCP server to issue at 172.27.35.2
Set the Ooma DMZ IP address to 172.27.35.2

Turn modem, Ooma, Router off.
Turn on modem and wait for sync with ISP.
Turn on Ooma and wait for boot up completion.
Turn on router.
Verified the above is still correct.

Do I still need to?
Connect to the Telo setup page http://setup.ooma.com and go to the network page. Click the radio button for "Use built in MAC address and then click update. Power cycle the modem.
Thanks...
No.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

Post Reply