Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
#48306 by FinalMacGyver
Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:39 pm
Hey everyone....I'm new to ooma as of a few hours ago and I have a couple of questions. The first I guess is how long after I update a setting online will it take effect on the ooma? I"ll start out with Im porting my phone number over and currently have it plugged in through the back of the ooma to use my phone number for the time being. With tha being said my home phone provided voicemail that I never setup before that picks up after 4 or 5 rings. I set the ooma online to go to ooma voicemail at 3 so I would be able to get any messages since I don't know the information for my old voice mail. When I did a test call the ooma does not pick up after 3. Will this update overnight?

Second I have two telos for my house. When I call my number using my cell I hear it ring once before and then the ooma rings on the second. Is this becuase of how it is setup with the porting?

Hope this makes sense.

Jason
#48318 by amoney
Tue Feb 23, 2010 6:37 pm
The changes made online should reflect on your device in 5 minutes etc. Some say you may need to reboot the device to pick up the changes.

As far as the ring, I have used my cellular to call other landlines and sometimes it happens just as you discribe. I would not worry about it, though I understand it effecting your issue.
#49263 by ray210
Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:32 am
I'm having the same problem. I set up my Ooma last night (I have Verizon landline service still), and even though I've set Ooma to pick up and send calls to voicemail within 10 seconds, it still doesn't work; Verizon voicemail picks up, and since it's disabled, it's just asks whether the caller wants to log-in to his/her own voice mailbox with Verizon and, if not, to call the number again. Very disappointing. :(
#49286 by southsound
Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:36 am