DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
jfinni6914@aol.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:38 am

DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Post by jfinni6914@aol.com » Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:34 am

Has anyone been successful connecting Ooma tot heir DSC Power 832 PC5015 alarm system? Prior to switching my home number, I had it working fine. Once I had my number ported over (coincidence?) it stopped working. The System gets a dial tone, dials, the alarm company answers and then the handshaking sequence starts but is unseccessful. It retries for 40 minutes (about once a minute) will all attempts being unseccussful.
Any suggesstions?

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Post by murphy » Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:43 am

jfinni6914@aol.com wrote:Has anyone been successful connecting Ooma tot heir DSC Power 832 PC5015 alarm system? Prior to switching my home number, I had it working fine. Once I had my number ported over (coincidence?) it stopped working. The System gets a dial tone, dials, the alarm company answers and then the handshaking sequence starts but is unseccessful. It retries for 40 minutes (about once a minute) will all attempts being unseccussful.
Any suggesstions?
You must precede the dialed number with *99 pause to have any chance that it will work.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

SierraSecurity
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:52 pm

Re: DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Post by SierraSecurity » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:57 pm

I could not get it to work with my DSC security system either, even after trying the *99 prefix. I was able to get it to work by changing the security system's communication format from Contact ID to SIA.
Apparently the SIA format lets the "handshaking" take place and the central station can get the information from your security panel.

It's been working fine for several months now.

jfinni6914@aol.com
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:38 am

Re: DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Post by jfinni6914@aol.com » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:38 am

Thanks SS! Very good to know!

My security monitoring comapny is telling me there isn't a way to place an "asterick 99" in front of the system because it will not accept the "asterick". In the installation manual it references it does accept an asterick and to use a Hex digit B. Not knowing what the application interface looks like, how would I describe to te support person to enter a a "Hex digit B".

Thanks,

J.

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Post by murphy » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:45 am

jfinni6914@aol.com wrote:Thanks SS! Very good to know!

My security monitoring comapny is telling me there isn't a way to place an "asterick 99" in front of the system because it will not accept the "asterick". In the installation manual it references it does accept an asterick and to use a Hex digit B. Not knowing what the application interface looks like, how would I describe to te support person to enter a a "Hex digit B".

Thanks,

J.
If your support person doesn't know how to enter an asterisk in a dial string, you don't have an experienced support person. The installation manual describes the procedure.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

dustydaniels
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:43 pm

Re: DSC Power 832 Alarm and Ooma

Post by dustydaniels » Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:54 am

I had an IP Adapter Card (TL-150) installed in my alarm panel (DSC Power832). It's been working perfectly since it was installed three months ago. It allows my alarm system to communicate with my monitoring station over the internet (faster than over a landline). It works even when Ooma service is down. I ran a Cat5e cable from my alarm panel to my router, and I keep my router (and Telo) plugged into a UPS.

I purchased the TL-150 from my Alarm Co. (who had never heard of it) and they installed it for free. The TL-150 includes a browser interface that provides zone status and allows me to arm/disarm my system from a networked computer. Below are links for more info........

http://www.dsc.com/index.php?n=products&o=view&id=139
http://www.barcodediscount.com/catalog/ ... tl-150.htm
http://www.alarmsystemstore.com/DSC-TL1 ... 0tl150.htm
http://www.securitysystemspro.com/DSC-T ... ctl150.htm

Post Reply