Ooma down ?

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
kdmc69
Posts: 502
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:15 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by kdmc69 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:16 am

ooma1113 wrote: Even with a problem like this I still will take OOMA over Verizon any day :D
Amen to that!! The funny thing though is that we have been on active calls twice now when the Telo logo turned red and on both occasions we were able to continue the calls. Maybe someone from Ooma can explain how that happens....after this thing is resolved.
Ooma Customer Since: August 2008
Ooma Equipment: 2 Telos + 2 HD2 Handsets
Ooma Service: Premier
Amped AC 1750 Router
TWC ->Router -> Telo1
TWC ->Router -> Telo2

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by Potts » Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:33 am

Mine keeps resetting as of 11:30 am. Mich.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

spsoftball
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:56 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by spsoftball » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:15 pm

mine is still down, and its getting pretty frustrating.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by bw1 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:25 pm

spsoftball wrote:mine is still down, and its getting pretty frustrating.
Send an email to one of the moderators, like ntoy.

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by Potts » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:59 pm

Ooma just had a major nation wide outage. Hold tight and wait for the system to get back on line. Your best up to date information is reading the postings. I feel sorry for new members activating a system and those that have a porting date at this time.
Jan. 22 2010 5:05 PM. Ooma is still off and on.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

jonallen
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:15 am

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by jonallen » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:16 pm

Could this outage be causing my blinking blue logo and lack of an Ooma dialtone when I tried to bring it up for the first time?
When is this outage expected to be over?

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by amoney » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:23 pm

kdmc69 wrote:
ooma1113 wrote: Even with a problem like this I still will take OOMA over Verizon any day :D
Amen to that!! The funny thing though is that we have been on active calls twice now when the Telo logo turned red and on both occasions we were able to continue the calls. Maybe someone from Ooma can explain how that happens....after this thing is resolved.
Well thats nice.

Perhaps once a call is placed it is switched over to other carriers, so essentially Ooma server is only required to begin the connection and not maintain it, or during a call it is maintained by other Ooma servers/switch. Something to that effect I could imagine.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by amoney » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:27 pm

jonallen wrote:Could this outage be causing my blinking blue logo and lack of an Ooma dialtone when I tried to bring it up for the first time?
When is this outage expected to be over?
Well if this starts to approach a week, Ooma will have shot itself in the foot for good this time. Hmmm, I still have untill 1/31 to request a return to Amazon.

Nice!

:P
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Potts
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by Potts » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:47 pm

amoney wrote:
jonallen wrote:Could this outage be causing my blinking blue logo and lack of an Ooma dialtone when I tried to bring it up for the first time?
When is this outage expected to be over?
Well if this starts to approach a week, Ooma will have shot itself in the foot for good this time. Hmmm, I still have untill 1/31 to request a return to Amazon.

Nice!

:P
Your lucky, my return date passed. My wife says get rid of it, and go back to AT&T.
Setup Dec. 2009. Cable Modem, (Hub and Scout purchase Amazon.Com) Router (Linksys WRT5465S2) Ooma Premier.

dustydaniels
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:43 pm

Re: Ooma down ?

Post by dustydaniels » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:48 pm

Potts wrote:Ooma just had a major nation wide outage. Hold tight and wait for the system to get back on line. Your best up to date information is reading the postings. I feel sorry for new members activating a system and those that have a porting date at this time.
Jan. 22 2010 5:05 PM. Ooma is still off and on.
FYI... Althought the porting process started at 10:00am EST and wasn't completed until 9:00pm EST, my number ported SUCCESSFULLY on 1/21 even with all the system problems. Goodbye landline!

Post Reply