What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
joedaddy
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:48 pm

What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by joedaddy » Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:52 pm

I have ATT DSL. If I port that number to Ooma. What happens?

I know the number ports to Ooma, but what happens to my ATT account?
Can I just get a new phone number and keep the DSL active without the ATT guy coming into my house, etc?

I need a landline for my house alarm, so having this second/backup line is no big deal..

Also, I bought my Ooma Telo from Costco..
If I signed up for Premier, do I lose few months I have left on my trial or does it extend it?
Also what happens to the international calling credit?

Thanks in advance...

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by murphy » Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:55 pm

Premier begins when the free trial of Premier ends. You won't lose anything.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by amoney » Sat Jan 16, 2010 9:57 pm

It is generally assumed if you PORT your dsl number, you will lose your dsl service, you will have to first complete the seperation of services into their own account numbers.

Recently there has been a thread (cant find it) that indicates the phone company will automatically roll the dsl service to what is called "dry-loop" account. I would proceed with extreme caution going this route. Again its safer to first seperate your landline/dsl service.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by tommies » Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:19 pm

joedaddy wrote:I have ATT DSL. If I port that number to Ooma. What happens?

I know the number ports to Ooma, but what happens to my ATT account?
Can I just get a new phone number and keep the DSL active without the ATT guy coming into my house, etc?

I need a landline for my house alarm, so having this second/backup line is no big deal..

Thanks in advance...
You need to call ATT CS and tell them you want to port your current number out to another carrier(voip) and you want to keep the their DSL service + a basic land line (with a different number)

I also have ATT DSL+land line, and when I called, my land line number was put on a dummy account till it ported and my DSL was put on a new account with a new number. It's called dry loop DSL, and there was no technician come out to my house.

For ATT DSL, it's essential that the dry loop is done before the port happend. Unfortunately that mean your current number will be inaccessible in between (for me it waw nearly 3 weeks)
amoney wrote:It is generally assumed if you PORT your dsl number, you will lose your dsl service, you will have to first complete the seperation of services into their own account numbers.

Recently there has been a thread (cant find it) that indicates the phone company will automatically roll the dsl service to what is called "dry-loop" account. I would proceed with extreme caution going this route. Again its safer to first seperate your landline/dsl service.
I believe it's Verizon DSL and maybe Qwest DSL too, but for ATT DSL, a dry loop has to be done prior.
tommies

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by amoney » Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:07 pm

tommies wrote:
joedaddy wrote:I have ATT DSL. If I port that number to Ooma. What happens?

I know the number ports to Ooma, but what happens to my ATT account?
Can I just get a new phone number and keep the DSL active without the ATT guy coming into my house, etc?

I need a landline for my house alarm, so having this second/backup line is no big deal..

Thanks in advance...
You need to call ATT CS and tell them you want to port your current number out to another carrier(voip) and you want to keep the their DSL service + a basic land line (with a different number)

I also have ATT DSL+land line, and when I called, my land line number was put on a dummy account till it ported and my DSL was put on a new account with a new number. It's called dry loop DSL, and there was no technician come out to my house.

For ATT DSL, it's essential that the dry loop is done before the port happend. Unfortunately that mean your current number will be inaccessible in between (for me it waw nearly 3 weeks)
amoney wrote:It is generally assumed if you PORT your dsl number, you will lose your dsl service, you will have to first complete the seperation of services into their own account numbers.

Recently there has been a thread (cant find it) that indicates the phone company will automatically roll the dsl service to what is called "dry-loop" account. I would proceed with extreme caution going this route. Again its safer to first seperate your landline/dsl service.
I believe it's Verizon DSL and maybe Qwest DSL too, but for ATT DSL, a dry loop has to be done prior.
Thanks, I was pretty sure it was Verizon I read about, I just cant find that recent thread, I will try again with different key words.

Anyways, i was wondering about your comment ...keep the their DSL service + a basic land line (with a different number)...

I understand spliting the service, where the DSL service gets a new account number (phone number), the original landline number becomes a seperate account which will eventually get PORTED over.

I just did not understand getting a basic line with different number, perhaps a misread, or did you mean the DSL gets a different number.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

tommies
Posts: 862
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:10 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by tommies » Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:29 am

joedaddy wrote: I need a landline for my house alarm, so having this second/backup line is no big deal..
You said this, so the second/backup line has to have a new number, and the DSL can be bundle together
tommies

QoS
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:00 am

Re: What happens if I port the number w/ ATT DSL?

Post by QoS » Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:29 pm

A summary of my experience porting my number from AT&T POTS/DSL to Ooma is here:

http://www.ooma.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5950

Post Reply