Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
#40588 by alancommike
Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:15 pm
Thought I'd post a happy story since there's so many installations that seem to have gone bad. I installed my Telo + Handset last night. Bought it at Costco, so it comes with an extended Premier trial package. The Telo came right up, downloaded the new firmware and got a VPN connection right away. I had no problems activating with ooma.com, it even had the extended Premier trial. Telo Handset sync'ed up just fine. I had an hour long conference call today that went great. I have some background buzz, but it's minimal. A few more days of testing it out and I'll order a few more handsets and start porting my number.

The only issue was the Kaspersky virus checker was blocking http://setup.ooma.com. I've been turning Kaspersky off more and more often lately, though it took too long for me to realize that might be the problem since the page partially displayed.

My setup:

cable model -> netgear firewall -> gige switch -> Telo

I have the LAN and WAN ports of the Telo both going into the switch with the Telo assigned a static DHCP address based on its external MAC address. I port forwarded the WAN address to the internal 172.27.35.1 NAT address, which works fine, though it would be nice if the LAN side of the Telo would act as a DHCP client rather than server. The port forward is a bit of a kludge.

I haven't setup any QOS yet, that's on the todo list. I can do QOS through the gigE switch and firewall to manage the bandwidth rather than letting Telo do it. I'm a big fan of each device does it's own thing. Telo does phone, that's it. It's job isn't to manage the bandwidth. From a consumer viewpoint though, I'm impressed with what Ooma has done to simplify the average household setup. Someone thought this through and did a good job of it.

...alan
#40589 by southsound
Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:29 pm
Alan,