What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
lchan
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:52 am

What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by lchan » Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:09 am

I bought a new Hub/Scout combination. After activation, what should show in My Ooma->Account->System? Should it show Hub and Scout? Right now it is showing only Ooma Hub in My Ooma for me.

jazzyone
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by jazzyone » Sun Oct 18, 2009 2:23 pm

You'll have to add a personal device in the "Phone Number" to show the scout and then assign another number to the scout.

lchan
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:52 am

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by lchan » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:43 am

Thanks for your reply. I already added the scout device.

Actually, my question really was how can I know in My Ooma that my device is activated as a Hub/Scout combination. I do not want voice mail to go away after the Premier trial because Ooma think that I have a Hub only product. Also for a Hub/Scout combination, I should not need to pay the regulation fee.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by bw1 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:50 am

They know based on the MAC address of the hub that you activated that it's a hub/scout combo. There's no need to register the scout. You can hook up the scout and use it or leave it in the box.

lchan
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 7:52 am

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by lchan » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:54 am

Thanks for your reply. So it seems that I will need to wait till the Premier trial period over to see if I still have voice mail then.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by Groundhound » Mon Oct 19, 2009 6:42 am

lchan wrote:Thanks for your reply. So it seems that I will need to wait till the Premier trial period over to see if I still have voice mail then.
After your trial, your scout will continue to operate as an extension of the hub. The VM features you have on the hub will also be on the scout. When the scout is operating this way as a shared device, it does not show up in my.ooma.

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by Leeway » Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:44 pm

lchan wrote:I bought a new Hub/Scout combination. After activation, what should show in My Ooma->Account->System? Should it show Hub and Scout? Right now it is showing only Ooma Hub in My Ooma for me.

You will be just fine. I bought Hub and Scout combo but never used the Scout. Matter of fact, I sold it.

I do not have premier but I do have caller-id.

dhwagner
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Clackamas, Oregon
Contact:

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by dhwagner » Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:19 am

I have registered - and all of a sudden only my non shared scout is showing up - the shared hub is not showing up at all - phone is working but "My Ooma" is not - I cannot log into the scout even though it is showing up - I log in on the Hub (main number) and get the scout number - I try and log in to the Scout number and I get an error message saying it cannot do that it needs a password???
I set the password from the scout window (pref - my phone numbers) and it says i need to enter the serial number but there is no place on the screen to enter a serial number - I entered the serial number when I first registered the scout -

I believe that "My Ooma" is not working - anyone else having problems like this?

dhwagner
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:54 pm
Location: Clackamas, Oregon
Contact:

Re: What should show in Account->System for Hub/Scout

Post by dhwagner » Wed Oct 21, 2009 5:53 pm

I wasn't clear enough when I first in put my problem:
I registered my hub and then my Scout

My ooma phone system is working well but I cannot set up using “My Ooma”
The first day I set everything up – I set up the hub with phone number 971-925-abcD – I input the information and serial number and all went OK.
I then set up the Scout as a device – I set it up as a device (not shared) the phone number for it is: 971-925-abcE.
Both lines work well –
As of two days ago when I log into my HUB account using 971-925-abcD and my password – I enter that information and then get a page that says: “We’re sorry, there was a problem processing the page.”
When I refresh the page it logs in to my account (partially) under Preferences / Phone Numbers I do NOT SEE the Hub (shared box) I only see the Device Box which shows my Scout which is 971-925-abcE. I can do nothing for settings for :?: my 971-925-abcD (Hub) number – if I try to log in under my scout number 971925abcE number it says the information is wrong and will not log in. :?:

Post Reply