Setting outgoing caller id name

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Setting outgoing caller id name

Post by bw1 » Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:24 pm

For those who are having an issue with your outgoing caller id name (CNAM), you can try using this tip:
http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/v ... e5aa&hl=en
If you want to check what your Caller ID name is of your Google Voice account just call (804) 222-1111 on your GV account and it will tell you your number and spell out your CID Name. I foudn this number from http://www.testcall.com/222-1111.html if anyone is wondering and if you want to add your name to the database you can use http://www.listyourself.net to add your name and other info.

Though, keep in mind that not all telephone providers (such as mine) use the same CNAM database as this provider uses.
I don't know if it will work and I haven't tried it myself.

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Setting outgoing caller id name

Post by nn5i » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:00 pm

Interesting. When I called it from my Telo it gave the correct number and then spelled Tallahassee FL, which indeed is where I live but is not what most folks see on their Caller-ID when I call.

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: Setting outgoing caller id name

Post by Davesworld » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Listyourself.net only worked for me using CallCentric, it has never worked on any of my Ooma numbers and would require having it really inserted into Verisign's National LIDB/CNAM database. Not sure if this is due to ooma's provider and CLEC, XO Communications or not. You absolutely cannot test this calling another Ooma number since within the Ooma network you use their database and are tricked into thinking you have outbound CNAM all the time. ATA or VOIP Provider assigned CID and CNAM will not traverse over the PSTN at all.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Setting outgoing caller id name

Post by bw1 » Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:24 am

Perhaps it will only work for GV numbers, but it seems to me that it shouldn't matter what provider your number is register to, only what database the carrier for the called number uses to look up the CNAM info. Apparently, some use this database since it's cheaper, even though it's only meant for information (411) calls.

Another place to check you outgoing caller id name is http://tnid.org/
It looks like http://www.cnam.info/tryit is too restricted to be of value.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Setting outgoing caller id name

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:10 pm

bw1 wrote:Another place to check you outgoing caller id name is http://tnid.org/
It looks like http://www.cnam.info/tryit is too restricted to be of value.
I remember this place not working for the longest time but now it works again. http://www.cnam.info/tryit
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply