Bandwidth monitor

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
scoutconnor
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Upstate NY

Bandwidth monitor

Post by scoutconnor » Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:05 pm

How difficult would it be to implement a bandwidth monitor for the Telo that could be accessed from setup.ooma.com?
I remember reading about something like this a while back on TechCrunch but nothing since. Just a simple monitor that gives the total in and out of the Telo (including the data used from the Telo itself) would be great.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Bandwidth monitor

Post by murphy » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:33 am

The first part of your question is already there on the Ports page.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

scoutconnor
Posts: 424
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Upstate NY

Re: Bandwidth monitor

Post by scoutconnor » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:21 am

murphy wrote:The first part of your question is already there on the Ports page.
Ports Page?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Bandwidth monitor

Post by murphy » Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:16 am

scoutconnor wrote:
murphy wrote:The first part of your question is already there on the Ports page.
Ports Page?
Connect to http://setup.ooma.com and select Ports in the left column.

Ports

HOME Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:61:04:02:F0
inet addr:172.27.36.1 Bcast:172.27.36.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:55
MODEM Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:61:04:02:F1
inet addr:192.168.4.16 Bcast:192.168.4.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:369447 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:215017 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:68580637 (65.4 MiB) TX bytes:19753251 (18.8 MiB)
Interrupt:53
© Copyright 2008 ooma, Inc. All rights reserved

My numbers are not very high because my Telo is after my router.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth monitor

Post by lbmofo » Thu Dec 02, 2010 7:48 pm

Looked at the "Ports" page of setup.ooma.com shortly after power cycling my Hub.

Home RX bytes:1840132 (1.7 MiB) TX bytes:1886529 (1.7 MiB)
Modem RX bytes:2039891 (1.9 MiB) TX bytes:1086539 (1.0 MiB)

Don't think Home stat is counting all traffic because I've downloaded tens of Mbs of data but only registered less than 2Mb.

Thought that Modem stat would encompass Home numbers but apparently not. The Modem TX is lower than Home TX.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply