New Ooma Dial Tone

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by ajw522 » Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:35 pm

Oohh-la-la. The Ooma Dial Tone has been revamped. Sounds good :)
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by southsound » Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:38 pm

Actually, we're told that the dialtone has not been changed - it just sounds so much richer with the new PureVoiceHD technology. I agree that it sounds great. And calling other Telo users sounds fantastic! Great job, ooma!
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by ajw522 » Fri Oct 08, 2010 8:43 pm

Darn - I don't know any other Ooma Telo users to call!

Plus, I also can tell that the Ooma ringtone on the handset sounds a lot richer -- I don't think that has something to do with the HD Voice, though, do you?
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by Dennis P » Fri Oct 08, 2010 9:41 pm

Ringtones on the handset are streamed over the air (as opposed to locally generated from the handset). This means that the same improvements that we made to enable HD Voice through the handset also allowed us to increase the quality of the ringtones as well.

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by ajw522 » Fri Oct 08, 2010 10:25 pm

Dennis P wrote:Ringtones on the handset are streamed over the air (as opposed to locally generated from the handset). This means that the same improvements that we made to enable HD Voice through the handset also allowed us to increase the quality of the ringtones as well.
Thanks for that clarification! The dial tone sounds great, and the ringtones do too....now, I just need to find someone else who has an Ooma Telo to try this out on. Again, great job Ooma!

Now, in regards to ringtones, do you have any idea when MP3 uploaded ringtones will be available?
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

Trinimd
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:51 am

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by Trinimd » Sun Oct 10, 2010 8:25 pm

Just noticed it
Thanks
OOMA TELO 1 (Purchased Dec 2009.)
OOMA Telo 2 (Purchased Feb 2010.)
3 Ooma Handsets (Free from refer a friend) Sold all 3 POS on Ebay
2 GE ATT DECT 6.0
7 Uniden 1580 DECT 6.0
20 Refer A friends Completed


All Powered by one Phone Socket

Hal
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:04 am

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by Hal » Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:00 pm

HD Audio is fantastic. Now I hope Ooma is thinking about video. The Cisco Umi (http://home.cisco.com/en-us/telepresence/umi) is really intriguing. But Cisco pricing is off the chart. I'm sure Ooma could deliver a more competitive product.

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by ajw522 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:49 pm

Hal wrote:HD Audio is fantastic. Now I hope Ooma is thinking about video. The Cisco Umi (http://home.cisco.com/en-us/telepresence/umi) is really intriguing. But Cisco pricing is off the chart. I'm sure Ooma could deliver a more competitive product.
Yao! $599 is really steep. I'd rather hook up my PC to the TV and put a webcam on top and make Skype calls.
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

gjwhitehorn
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:38 pm
Location: TX

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by gjwhitehorn » Sat Oct 23, 2010 10:13 pm

ajw522 wrote:Oohh-la-la. The Ooma Dial Tone has been revamped. Sounds good :)
I just got my Telo, and the dial tone reminds me a bit of some nightmares I've had before -- so for me it's a little creepy and I'd prefer something a little more normal. I think I'd be more ok with it if they'd just take the little tune off of the beginning -- or better yet, give me options for the dial tone (e.g. play the tune or not; use the standard PSTN tones or the Ooma tones; etc.).

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: New Ooma Dial Tone

Post by ajw522 » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:24 pm

gjwhitehorn wrote:
ajw522 wrote:Oohh-la-la. The Ooma Dial Tone has been revamped. Sounds good :)
I just got my Telo, and the dial tone reminds me a bit of some nightmares I've had before -- so for me it's a little creepy and I'd prefer something a little more normal. I think I'd be more ok with it if they'd just take the little tune off of the beginning -- or better yet, give me options for the dial tone (e.g. play the tune or not; use the standard PSTN tones or the Ooma tones; etc.).
Lol :D
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

Post Reply