Ooma Hub vs. Ooma Telo

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Ooma Hub vs. Ooma Telo

Post by nn5i » Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:32 pm

StevesWeb wrote:
rmario9 wrote:What does the DTMF mean and what does it stand for :?:
Dual Tone Modulated Frequencies - the touch tones that replaced rotary dialing in the 1960s.
No; it's Dual Tone Multi-Frequency. Dual Tone because a touch-tone is always two tones sent simultaneously, and Multi-Frequency because the two tones are selected from among eight possible frequencies. The eight frequencies are divided into two groups of four (the COLUMN frequencies and the ROW frequencies), and a standard DTMF signal has one from each group.

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: Ooma Hub vs. Ooma Telo

Post by Davesworld » Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:47 am

Nice detailed comparison libmofo. I can only confirm that my HUB I bought in 2009 as part of a core and downgraded back to non premium does indeed show both caller id (CID) and CNAM. It sounds like it's hit and miss when buying just the hub rather than the whole core.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Hub vs. Ooma Telo

Post by lbmofo » Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:00 am

Davesworld wrote:Nice detailed comparison libmofo. I can only confirm that my HUB I bought in 2009 as part of a core and downgraded back to non premium does indeed show both caller id (CID) and CNAM. It sounds like it's hit and miss when buying just the hub rather than the whole core.
Thanks. More info related to callerid name for Core, standalone Hub, Telo: viewtopic.php?t=11484#p80321
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Ooma Hub vs. Ooma Telo

Post by lbmofo » Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:51 pm

lbmofo wrote: Landline Pass-through:

Whether in landline integration or standalone mode,

Hub: If the Internet or power goes out then phones connected to the Hub would just pass through to landline dialtone plugged into the wall port.
Telo: Only if the Internet connection goes down.
The Scout acts like a Hub in that if the HPNA signal or power goes out, phone connected to the Scout would just pass through to dialtone present in the house walljack.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

BLL
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:29 pm

Re: Ooma Hub vs. Ooma Telo

Post by BLL » Sat Aug 13, 2016 8:59 pm

lbmofo do you happen to know if there are any hardware differences between the telo 1 &2 ?
edit: I found the info here viewtopic.php?p=127201#p127201

Post Reply