How do I change my time zone?

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

How do I change my time zone?

Post by nn5i » Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:56 pm

How do I change my time zone? It's incorrect, which places an incorrect time in CallerID for incoming calls. In my phone system, all kinds of things depend on the time in the CallerID. How do I change it from PDT to EDT? I found no way to do this on the Ooma web site, but the web site isn't very easy to use so I may just have missed it.

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: How do I change my time zone?

Post by murphy » Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:27 pm

You will have to call customer support to get that fixed.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

ntoy

Re: How do I change my time zone?

Post by ntoy » Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:35 am

Hello,

I made the change from Pacific to Eastern time for you. Please
allow some time for the config files to update.

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: How do I change my time zone?

Post by nn5i » Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:18 pm

ntoy wrote:Hello,

I made the change from Pacific to Eastern time for you. Please
allow some time for the config files to update.
You, Sir, are a gentleman and a scholar.

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: How do I change my time zone?

Post by nn5i » Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:02 am

nn5i wrote:
ntoy wrote:Hello,

I made the change from Pacific to Eastern time for you. Please
allow some time for the config files to update.
You, Sir, are a gentleman and a scholar.
You are still a gentleman and a scholar, but a day and a half later I still get a wrong time in CallerID for incoming calls. I'll call Customer Support.

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: How do I change my time zone?

Post by nn5i » Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:31 am

Aha -- Customer Support had no clue, but in passing mentioned something that suggested to me that the time was stored locally in the Telo. As an experiment I powered the Telo off, then back on. This updated the time, and I now get correct time on incoming CallerID.

Good thing; my computers all set their clocks by incoming CallerID, and they've been 3 hours wrong for days. Now they're all correct within 30 seconds, which is as close as you can get from CallerID -- it doesn't give you seconds, only hours and minutes.

So: when you change time zones in Ooma's records, you've got to power-cycle the Telo. CS didn't know this.

ntoy

Re: How do I change my time zone?

Post by ntoy » Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:54 am

Thanks for the feedback!
This will help our trainers to improve on their processes.

Post Reply