Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
User avatar
Cowboy11044
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:22 am

Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Cowboy11044 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:13 am

:idea: Now that the latest software update allowed me to transfer my contacts from my Ooma web account to my Telo handset (yea!), I find that trying to go to someone in particular is difficult because I'm required to scroll through the whole list to find the one person I want to call. Would it be possible in a future software update to do what most cell phone and landline digital phones do with their address books--use the key pad to punch in the first letter of the contact's name and it automatically scrolls to the contacts starting with that letter. In other words, if I want to call "Keith" I would press the 5 key twice and it would go to all those contacts beginning with the letter "K." I tried that, but the Telo handset is configured to think of those only as numbers, so it punched in a "55" in the foregoing example.

Thanks for your consideration.

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Bobby B » Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:13 am

Try pressing "534" - that will come up with names that start with "Kei" (among others that match the combo)
Bobby B

User avatar
Cowboy11044
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:22 am

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Cowboy11044 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:58 am

Ummm, no, it didn't. Pressing the numbers take me to that number entry on the contacts list. For instance, pressing 5 takes me to the 5th entry, pressing 53 takes me to the 53rd entry. Is there a handset setting I need to change to get your result?

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Bobby B » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:35 am

When you're viewing the contact list on the handset and press a number on the keypad, does the "Address Book:" text on the top change to "Search:"?
Bobby B

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by murphy » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:36 am

It works for me.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
Cowboy11044
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:22 am

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Cowboy11044 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:40 am

Bobby B wrote:When you're viewing the contact list on the handset and press a number on the keypad, does the "Address Book:" text on the top change to "Search:"?
Yes, Bobby, it does, but not to an alpha search. For instance, if I press the 5 key, it changes to "Search: 5" and moves to the 5th entry in my contact list. For me, that's someone whose name begins with a "B."
Last edited by Cowboy11044 on Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by murphy » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:48 am

It will jump to the first entry that has a J K or L in it.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
Cowboy11044
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:22 am

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Cowboy11044 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:56 am

Bobby, because you indicate that this feature is supposed to be working for me, and it apparently does for murphy, would you like to take this out of the forum and work it with me individually? Or should I submit something to your tech department?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by bw1 » Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:07 pm

If you enter a 5 it should display at the top "Search: 5" and should display those entries that have a 5 in the number, or the letters J, K or L in the name. I don't know the exact algorithm but it mostly works for me when I enter a string of numbers to search it displays based on the first or last name or one of the phone numbers for that string of numbers or letters. Obviously, it could match quite a few entries with that combination, but the more values you enter the more it refines to what you're looking for.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Suggestion for Telo Handset: Jump to Specific Contacts

Post by Groundhound » Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:22 pm

I find that I must get at least two digits in before I get an accurate name-sort list. For example, I have only one person in my list who's name begins with an R (Ray), but when I press 7 the list does not accurately return only names with p,q,r,s - instead the first name at that point is one beginning with a B but has a 7 as the first digit in the phone number. When I hit 2 as the second digit the name list is sorted correctly, with a name beginning with "Pa" first and the name beginning with "Ra" second. So I would say that the first digit entered sorts by number, and when you enter a second digit it then begins to sort by name. Once I enter 9 as the third digit, Ray is the only name on the list.

Post Reply