*98 to access VM from non Ooma handset

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
voiper
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:52 am

*98 to access VM from non Ooma handset

Post by voiper » Sun Mar 28, 2010 3:22 pm

It would be nice to be able to access voicemail from a non-Ooma handset by dialing *98 as a shortcut for dialing your own number.

Granted, probably not a very important feature, but it would be nice. ;)

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: *98 to access VM from non Ooma handset

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:28 pm

I just add my number in a speed dial entry.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

User avatar
DTMF
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: *98 to access VM from non Ooma handset

Post by DTMF » Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:47 pm

Why stop there? Rather than just one speed dial number, I'd rather have numeric speed dial for a bunch of numbers, as I requested here. ;)
Ooma customer since November 2009.
Formerly employed at another VoIP company.
My opinions are my own.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: *98 to access VM from non Ooma handset

Post by WayneDsr » Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:38 pm

That may be an option for the future, but for now, the easiest work-a-round for me (and possibly the OP) is to program my non-ooma phone to speed dial my home phone number with a single keypress. Works great in the meantime!

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: *98 to access VM from non Ooma handset

Post by southsound » Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:59 am

DTMF wrote:Why stop there? Rather than just one speed dial number, I'd rather have numeric speed dial for a bunch of numbers, as I requested here. ;)
I used to hate the bother of individually programming every one of my cordless handsets so that I had speed dialing on all phones. Sometimes a handset or two would have incorrect (old) numbers even though I was careful to keep up with changes in cell numbers, etc. Then I bought my Uniden DECT 6.0 systems with 5 handsets. (Yes, I have two of them making up 10 of my 19 phones.) With the Uniden and other newer systems, you can create a system wide speed dial list by publishing it to the cordless base. I know this will not take care of everyone's needs, but I found it to be a really good feature. One thing I especially like over just a numeric speed dial is that I get to verify that the person I'm calling is really the person I'm meaning to call. With increasing age, too many numbers in my volatile memory begin to blend. The phone's display works great in assuring me I'm calling the right person.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply