Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
User avatar
Cowpoke
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:19 pm

Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by Cowpoke » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:29 pm

Of recent I've had a few instances where my Ooma phone line, for whatever reason, is non-responsive and as a result my internet connection goes non-responsive. I confirmed that my broadband signal was still live...

There is some issue at the telo router stage; this shouldn't stop the whole connection though! Why doesn't the Telo router pass the connection through to the next device? After all, it is called a router...

Anyone have similar experience? Was this resolved, and if so, how?

...ride on...
Cowpoke

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by murphy » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:39 pm

Cowpoke wrote:Of recent I've had a few instances where my Ooma phone line, for whatever reason, is non-responsive and as a result my internet connection goes non-responsive. I confirmed that my broadband signal was still live...

There is some issue at the telo router stage; this shouldn't stop the whole connection though! Why doesn't the Telo router pass the connection through to the next device? After all, it is called a router...

Anyone have similar experience? Was this resolved, and if so, how?

...ride on...
Cowpoke
Go into ooma setup (http://setup.ooma.com), go to the network page, click the radio button for use built in MAC address, click update. Power cycle your modem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
Cowpoke
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2008 6:19 pm

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by Cowpoke » Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:32 pm

Thx murphy!

...is there a way to reset/reboot the Telo besides unplugging and replugging it?

-cowpoke

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by murphy » Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:37 pm

Cowpoke wrote:Thx murphy!

...is there a way to reset/reboot the Telo besides unplugging and replugging it?

-cowpoke
No.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

mwakefield
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:50 pm

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by mwakefield » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:00 pm

I am having the exact same problem. I have my Telo hooked directly into the cable modem and my home network connected to the Telo. I did changed the MAC address parameter in Network to "Use Built-in". We'll see if that has any effect.

I would like to make a suggestion that a "Soft Reset" button is added to Http://setup.ooma.com in order to facilitate the reset of the Telo when it hangs up the network occasionally (once a week or so, in my case).

bashley101
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by bashley101 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:27 am

Our connection: Internet --> Cablemodem --> OOMA --> Router --> Computers

There are certain sites we are unable to connect to ("You have no permission...server...[long hex number]) unless we turn on the VPN. I suspect that the Ooma is somehow sending an incorrect IP address back out and somehow this results in blocking. This is just a guess. We've tried swapping cablemodems, forcing the cable company to give us a new IP address (like pulling lion teeth) and using different browsers. I am unable to connect to http://setup.ooma.com:

"This site can’t be reached
setup.ooma.com’s server IP address could not be found.
Go to http://ooma.com/
Search Google for set up ooma
ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED"

and ooma.com offers no useful help if you've already read the manual.
Running linux slackware 14.2, firefox and chrome.

We love the ooma. Any suggestions?

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by murphy » Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:55 am

setup.ooma.com is a web site that is inside of the Telo.
It's actual IP address is 172.27.35.1
Try that.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

bashley101
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by bashley101 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:10 pm

I tried that too. Both Chrome and Firefox give the 'timed out' message.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by murphy » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:20 pm

You mentioned a VPN. If there is a VPN running you can't connect to the web server inside of the Telo. The request goes through the VPN to wherever the other end is. There is no path back to the Telo.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

bashley101
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Pass through of Internet Connection on Telo

Post by bashley101 » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:41 am

I can't connec to the given URLs in any way -- VPN, NO VPN, Firefox, Chrome, lynx...

Post Reply