New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
dman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:08 pm

New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by dman » Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:19 pm

If you want to lock in Premier as a premium service and make sure everyone uses it. Allow all Premier 411 calls to be automatically forwarded to free 800-Goog411 calls. Premier service would easily pay for it's self in very little time and save users even more money. I dont think the other VOIP competitior are doing this either.

If you like this idea and use it - please give me Premier service for life for free.

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by caseybea » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:29 pm

411 and google's automated goog-411 are totally different. Real 411 can be used to look up PEOPLE; goog-411 locates businesses only. Program your handset for goog-411 as a speed dial, you're all set. I personally don't see how tying 411 to goog-411 (which is free...) is something that would draw people to a paid subscription service.

If you want to get people to switch, then hook up google-voice extensions for the telo AND hub :cool:

My $0.02.
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

dman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:08 pm

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by dman » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:42 pm

I guess I already know the people I'm trying to call and their phone number. So most of my 411 calls are to locate a business. I use Goog411 when I need to make a call but my family and guest at my house might not be so disciplined; which ends up costing money. That is where automatically connecting to 800 Goog411 would save me some dough.

Finally, I guess GE thought it was a good idea when they added a Goog411 button to their Dect 6.0 phones. :D

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/images ... lectronics
Last edited by dman on Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daet
Posts: 359
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 5:21 am
Location: Metairie, LA

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by daet » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:56 pm

dman wrote:If you want to lock in Premier as a premium service and make sure everyone uses it. Allow all Premier 411 calls to be automatically forwarded to free 800-Goog411 calls. Premier service would easily pay for it's self in very little time and save users even more money. I dont think the other VOIP competitior are doing this either.
Program it as a speed-dial # on your telephone.
Ooma customer since April 2009
Ooma equipment: Hub ; Telo + 4 handsets
Ooma service: Annual Premier subscription

dman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:08 pm

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by dman » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:02 pm

Once again, I might know how to use the speed dial features but my kids, wife and older parents don't... they just dial 411 and I pay the bill. If I could make sure everyone that uses my phone connected to 800-Goog411 I'll save money on those calls.

joeed2
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:52 pm

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by joeed2 » Wed Feb 03, 2010 10:38 am

Is there a way to block all outgoing 411 calls? What if you removed your credit card from the biling section of Ooma.

dman
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:08 pm

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by dman » Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:18 pm

joeed2 wrote:Is there a way to block all outgoing 411 calls? What if you removed your credit card from the biling section of Ooma.
There might be a way to remove the credit card information but I don't think that will stop them from billing me. If I don't pay the bill, I'm sure they can shut my service off. :cry:

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: New Ooma Premier Service - 411 to 800-Goog411

Post by Davesworld » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:20 pm

caseybea wrote: If you want to get people to switch, then hook up google-voice extensions for the telo AND hub :cool:

My $0.02.
Except that google voice extensions are a feature of Freeswitch which the Telo uses whereas the Hub uses Asterisk. This is not to say that a firmware using Freeswitch could not be made for the Hub.

Post Reply