Landline option after activation?

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
RadioActiveLamb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:09 pm

Landline option after activation?

Post by RadioActiveLamb » Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:15 pm

I activated my Telo without the landline option. Now, I am having second-thoughts. I'd like to plug-in my land-line into the "wall" jack on the Telo so that I can continue to receive phone calls with the old line during the port process. I've looked all-over in "my ooma" and on the ooma device configuration. The device shows that I have the line plugged in, but when I call it, it rings forever on the calling phone, but my home phone never rings.

Can I switch-on the landline option until porting is complete?

Fignewton
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:52 pm

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by Fignewton » Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:18 pm

I believe you have to contact customer service to change it. I've read in previous posts that once a line is integrated you have to call CS to get rid of it. I'm imagining you'd have to do the same if you chose not to integrate it.

sldfjl
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 8:51 pm

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by sldfjl » Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:23 pm

I did the opposite, I selected integrated, but then changed my mind and wanted a new number. Call CS, they'll take care of it.

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:23 pm

It's much simpler to just plug a separate phone into your land line until the port completes. Incoming calls on the land line phone and outgoing calls on the phone connected to the ooma phone jack.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

RadioActiveLamb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:09 pm

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by RadioActiveLamb » Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:33 pm

Thanks for all the quick replies. I'll call CS.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by Groundhound » Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:26 pm

I agree with murphy on making this change. I'll be surprised if you don't regret it.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by southsound » Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:29 pm

Like murphy said, you might want to reconsider for a couple of reasons. There have been some problems with landline integration and the Telo. Also, integrating your landline does not allow you to really test out how well the Telo works before you have turned off the landline. When it is integrated you use the landline for all incoming and local outgoing. The only time you are really hearing how the Telo works is when you call long distance. You also loose some of the features of the Telo (especially during your Premier trial) when integrated. In my humble opinion, you are better off staying like you are until the port is complete. Of course, it is your choice. Before you make the decision, why not do an advanced search of the forum using this string: http://www.ooma.com/forums/search.php?k ... mit=Search
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

RadioActiveLamb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 1:09 pm

Re: Landline option after activation?

Post by RadioActiveLamb » Fri Jan 01, 2010 2:49 pm

I called (hold-time for a rep was 25 mins) and converted it to an integrated line. It is working great now. Keeping two lines for me during the port process is not practical, given my wiring set-up. I'm jumping both-feet in and will assume the risks.

I appreciate the feedback and the warnings. However, I take the number of problems posted here with a grain of salt. Rarely do people come to a support forum to post how well a device works.

So-far, I'm very happy with the Ooma.

Post Reply