softphone

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
cmeisel
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:20 am

softphone

Post by cmeisel » Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:35 am

I had Ooma for 2 years now and I have been very happy with the service. However, I travel frequently and I miss not having a softphone. The softphone support is the only reason to still have a vonage second phone.
I would love to get rid of it and only use Ooma.

thetaz01
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:57 am

Re: softphone

Post by thetaz01 » Tue Jan 06, 2009 6:17 am

I second that, A Softfone would be an awsome addition the the Ooma arsinal or features..

pfloyd14
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 11:02 am

Re: softphone

Post by pfloyd14 » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:23 pm

Not to sound redundant but that would really add to the usefulness of the service. I would be more likely to use the service when I travel if I had a soft phone

brwilliams
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:09 pm
Location: Windsor, CA

Re: softphone

Post by brwilliams » Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:30 pm

I agree. Offering a softphone would be a huge benefit...and how about video phone as well?

rbuck
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 5:43 pm

Re: softphone

Post by rbuck » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:07 pm

and softphone means...what?

2-busy-2
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 2:35 pm

Re: softphone

Post by 2-busy-2 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 10:53 am

rbuck wrote:and softphone means...what?
I had the same question, so I looked it up on the Vonage site.

Apparently you can have the phone service through your laptop while you travel by downloading their software.

I'm not sure if your home phone rings as well as the laptop?? but sounds like a nice feature.

AndrewScott
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:10 am

Re: softphone

Post by AndrewScott » Wed Feb 04, 2009 5:48 pm

A softphone would be great. IF we could get our SIP settings then we could use any available SIP desktop software and plugin our Ooma settings. Any chance of this?

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: softphone

Post by murphy » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:16 pm

2-busy-2 wrote:
rbuck wrote:and softphone means...what?
I had the same question, so I looked it up on the Vonage site.

Apparently you can have the phone service through your laptop while you travel by downloading their software.

I'm not sure if your home phone rings as well as the laptop?? but sounds like a nice feature.
Vonage's softphone has it's own phone number and costs an extra $9.99 per month.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

convertedFromVonage
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: softphone

Post by convertedFromVonage » Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:03 pm

It would be a very good addition. I highly recommend it to you Ooma guys to add the softphone... Wont cost you much - plenty of open source softphones available - you probably have one already. That will close the gap the Ooma has with Vonage...

ooma.cares
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:43 pm

Re: softphone

Post by ooma.cares » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:55 pm

Softphone with SIP settings, I would love it. I could then use my Nokia e71 to make and receive OOMA calls. Would be a great convenience.

Post Reply