Computer Dialing

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
LonelyGuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:20 pm

Computer Dialing

Post by LonelyGuy » Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:25 pm

A feature that allows me to dial from my Outlook Contacts would be so nice! Life gets good when I have only one place to keep my contacts...

I am new to the forums so wont be surprised if this has been hashed before.

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Computer Dialing

Post by hpepper » Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:26 pm

There has been mention of dialing from contacts in the Telo... coming

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: Computer Dialing

Post by Leeway » Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:47 pm

I had it with Call Vantage, and I sure do miss it. I hope Ooma/Telo will get to that down the road.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Computer Dialing

Post by southsound » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:28 pm

Of course you can always get a Google Voice account and port the contacts to your GV address book. Then you can call right from the Google Voice contact list. It will ring your ooma first then ring the party you are trying to reach. Works well if you don't mind answering your phone as an intermediate step. I've been using GV with my ooma hub and Telo for some time and really am getting to love the mixture of features. Of course, when Google Voice Extensions are avaialble I'll become a Premier subscriber and the two will have (hopefully) seamless integration. :cool:
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

User avatar
Leeway
Posts: 933
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:50 pm
Location: North of Milwaukee WI

Re: Computer Dialing

Post by Leeway » Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:23 pm

Southsound, I hear what you are saying with GV but the ideal way would be to click on a contact in your ooma phone book and just about instantly your phone rings and what you hear is the phone ringing to the number you've clicked on.

I think ooma will get there in time. At least I hope so.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Computer Dialing

Post by southsound » Thu Oct 08, 2009 8:45 pm

Leeway wrote:Southsound, I hear what you are saying with GV but the ideal way would be to click on a contact in your ooma phone book and just about instantly your phone rings and what you hear is the phone ringing to the number you've clicked on.

I think ooma will get there in time. At least I hope so.
Have you tried GV? That is exactly how it works.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

LonelyGuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:20 pm

Re: Computer Dialing

Post by LonelyGuy » Fri Oct 09, 2009 8:48 am

I installed a VoIP system for a Fortune 100 company and one of the best loved features was the ability to use the computer to command the phone. I know one of Ooma's selling features is that you, "...don't need a computer". But lets face it, everyone has their Ooma box between their Internet modem and their computer. who would have high speed Internet without a computer?

I just bought an LG phone that allows me to synch my contacts and calendar between Outlook and the phone. Now if I could just get Ooma to dial from Outlook, I would be happy as a pig at high tide...

Post Reply