Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
Norhausen
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:23 pm

Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by Norhausen » Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:37 pm

I am using an HP J6480 as a printer/fax machine. The fax part can be set to 9600baud as the slowest speed. Did anyone successfully use OOMA as a fax line? I know its not meant to be, but trying doesn't hurt, right?

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by WayneDsr » Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:45 pm

I don't but there are many that do.
Use the hub, not the scout.
As a prefix to your outgoing number use *99,, to put the hub in non-compression mode.

All should work fine.

Wayne

grecni
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:14 pm

Re: Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by grecni » Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:53 am

I have an HP 2210xi multi-function printer. I use the fax with my Ooma hub all the tiime. Simply use *99 before the number. It seems (but I wont' swear to it) that using a 1 before the area code also seems to help.

Norhausen
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:23 pm

Re: Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by Norhausen » Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:34 pm

Thanks for the info.
I don't have the hub where the fax machine is, but I will try it soon.

mrjagster
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by mrjagster » Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:03 pm

I use an HP Officejet J6450...QOS set to zero on Ooma, Fax Speed set to 33,600, ECM on FAX set to OFF, *99 when dialing.

My faxes are usually in the 8-10 page range and I don't experience any problems.
ooma customer since September 2007
ooma hardware: Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

mrjagster
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by mrjagster » Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:04 pm

And my fax is connected by splitter to my hub.
ooma customer since September 2007
ooma hardware: Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

lorribarnes
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:13 am

Re: Did anyone try to make OOMA work with a fax machine?

Post by lorribarnes » Tue Aug 25, 2009 6:27 am

make sure you turn off the ecm on your fax machine and then use *99 before you fax and it should work fine. I use mine all the time.


mrjagster wrote:And my fax is connected by splitter to my hub.

Post Reply