Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
aguy2no
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:19 am

Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by aguy2no » Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:40 am

I have a system in my home that would allow me to call into my home security system. I know ooma does not support security systems (and that is a shame because you would generate more business), but i think this is important also for people using their fax. As with my security system, a fax is also looking for a analog signal to receive, leaving digital as our only incoming possibility restricts fax and dialing in.
Is anyone aware of a way to make ooma stay in analog, or would the engineers at ooma make it possible to stay in analog either by a switch on the unit, or program through the phone or on our dashboard.
Thanks
aguy2no

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by Groundhound » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:19 am

The ooma phone port is analog. Upstream from the hub is VoIP, which must always be digital.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by southsound » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:09 am

Some people have had good experiences using ooma with alarm systems and fax machines so I would not assume it won't work before trying. Some tips - make sure to use the phone jack on the hub. Quality of the call seems to be better there. And add ,,*99, (that's pause, pause, *99 pause) on outgoing data calls to force the ooma to use the least compression. If you are able to throttle your fax to 9600 bps that will also help.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

aguy2no
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:19 am

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by aguy2no » Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:56 pm

yes, i have had good results with outbound fax, but im not sure if there would be success with incoming fax, due to the digital reception of ooma,
just like my security system has no luck with remote as it is looking for the analog signal

but2002
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:02 pm

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by but2002 » Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:00 pm

aguy2no wrote:yes, i have had good results with outbound fax, but im not sure if there would be success with incoming fax, due to the digital reception of ooma,
just like my security system has no luck with remote as it is looking for the analog signal
The Ooma outputs an "Analog" signal over the telephone wires if wired properly. The Wall jack outputs a digital signal in order to communicate with the scout.

The ooma can be used for security system some of the time, just depends on some. I sucessfully initiated a dial-up connection over the ooma one time. That worked, but slowly, obviously. Just have your security technician (if you are unable to) add *99, (Including the comma!!) to the beginning of the telephone number that it uses to dial out. That should help it a lot. Also lower the bandwidth to 9600 bps if possible.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by Groundhound » Tue Jul 14, 2009 1:08 pm

aguy2no wrote:yes, i have had good results with outbound fax, but im not sure if there would be success with incoming fax, due to the digital reception of ooma,
just like my security system has no luck with remote as it is looking for the analog signal
If you need proof that the ooma phone port is analog, hook up a 30 year old phone to it - it will receive calls just fine, and if it's touch tone it will dial out just fine as well.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by scottlindner » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:55 pm

Isn't the real issue about full bandwidth vs a higher compression rate? I know the OP is talking about analog, but I think they are getting at the compression and not really knowing it.

Scott

MWPollard
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:35 pm
Location: Bristol VA
Contact:

Re: Sure wish we could make Ooma stay in analog mode

Post by MWPollard » Tue Sep 15, 2009 8:20 pm

I think the OP is having a problem with receiving data calls, not with making them. Sure, we can press *99 to place data calls (I do this with my DVR), but that doesn't help when receiving calls, like an incoming fax.

It might work if the caller could enter a code, but they would have to know that the code was needed. Further, since the code is probably needed prior to call initiation, this might still not work.

Probably a better solution, though perhaps not acceptable by ooma, would be to have an option to default a phone number to low compression, which *99 switches on a call-by-call basis. The problem is that low compression needs a better (higher bandwidth) Internet connection to work well, and any other use of the Internet will suffer significantly while a call is in process.

It's a good feature request, if ooma will go along with it. There's just a risk, from their perspective, that some stupid users will turn it on "to have the calls sound better" and will kill their Internet performance and blame ooma.

Post Reply