Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
pl1
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 2:10 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by pl1 » Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:43 am

and how would having VM OFF option as Scott requested solve the telemarketing calls from ringing?
you can't.
the first call still has to come thru..
I guess you have to understand how the CID machine I use works. If the call is blackisted, the call is sent to a phantom port. It will ring until the caller hangs up. In this case, since Ooma will pickup and leave VM, I replace it with an answering machine that does not ring and with call screening off. Then, I have the option of rejecting the call with my answering machine. If I could turn off the Ooma VM, I would not need the second answering machine. All calls that are blacklisted ring indefinitely.

lohertz
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Far West Burbs, Chicago

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by lohertz » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:57 am

The new answer will be Ooma's Telo. If you haven't heard about or seen pics, it will most likely "solve" the dilema.

What I would like to see is when I look at my handset, it displays a "New Message" just as it does for "New Calls".

I believe the Telo will incorporate that into it's handset. This is speculation, but that would be a reasonable assumption.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by scottlindner » Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:47 am

lohertz wrote:The new answer will be Ooma's Telo. If you haven't heard about or seen pics, it will most likely "solve" the dilema.

What I would like to see is when I look at my handset, it displays a "New Message" just as it does for "New Calls".

I believe the Telo will incorporate that into it's handset. This is speculation, but that would be a reasonable assumption.
Are we getting free upgrades to Telo? :-)

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by southsound » Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:06 am

lohertz wrote: Are we getting free upgrades to Telo? :-)
No, but think of it this way. When I bought a new car some time ago, my son was just getting his driver's license. I gave him my old truck and he was pleased as could be. Of course, he had to change the color to something cool and put a dual subwoofer cabinet in the bed, cut a hole through to the cab, and put in about a bazillion watt amplifier so he would be able to experience deafness at an early age. He loved it. And I loved my new car. Stock sound system, nice color from the factory, etc.

When the Telo comes out, gift your old system to a friend or relative. There is a minimal cost to swap owners and numbers, but they will love not having a phone bill. All the features will still work and the hub/scout will still receive support from ooma and this forum. And you will be able to enjoy the wonderful new features. I think I heard that the Telo might even make those fancy coffee drinks we enjoy here in the Northwest, but that might just be my imagination. Can you say good bye phone bills and Starbucks???

Ahhhh. Coffee!!! :)
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:45 pm

Seatles Best... my favorite!

Wayne

lohertz
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Far West Burbs, Chicago

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by lohertz » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:33 pm

Sorry, I like good old foldgers (gourmet supreme from walmart.) And when I'm camping its Nescafe.

I cant wait to see some real specs on the Telo!

And southsound has the right idea...I do plan to gift mine to a relative.

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: Can I use my own answering machine system instead of Oomas?

Post by scottlindner » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:56 pm

lohertz wrote:Sorry, I like good old foldgers (gourmet supreme from walmart.) And when I'm camping its Nescafe.
I like my home roast. Literally.

Scott

Post Reply