Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
PKR
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:09 pm

Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by PKR » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:14 pm

On several occasions during the past couple of weeks I've noticed that my internet speed drops ... pages load very slowly, for example. I'm concerned that with the Ooma positioned first after the cable modem it might interfere with distribution throughout the balance of my network. And by the way, I've restarted the Ooma on 3 of these occasions and found that page loads are soon back to their usual speed.
Ooma seems to be working just fine otherwise ...

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by thunderbird » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:30 pm

PKR wrote:On several occasions during the past couple of weeks I've noticed that my internet speed drops ... pages load very slowly, for example. I'm concerned that with the Ooma positioned first after the cable modem it might interfere with distribution throughout the balance of my network. And by the way, I've restarted the Ooma on 3 of these occasions and found that page loads are soon back to their usual speed.
Ooma seems to be working just fine otherwise ...
See topic: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=14868

PKR
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by PKR » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:01 pm

Thanks very much for the quick - and helpful - reply. I've done as suggested and will give it a whirl...

PKR
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by PKR » Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:30 pm

Well, unfortunately that did not work. Leaving me to suspect that the problem is with the Ooma itself. I'm again on the verge of giving up on Ooma ... it has been one thing after another to the point where I have to wonder if its worth the hassle. Anyone care to talk me out of it ?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by lbmofo » Fri Nov 30, 2012 3:40 pm

After you done what thunderbird suggested, make sure you reboot everthing from modem, ooma, router. Even the computer that you setup your Ooma with.

If you still find issues with your internet slowing down, connect your Ooma to your router. Don't need to have it between the modem and the router; without doing anything to your Ooma, it should work fine and your internet should be as it worked before.

Also, if you are using one of the older 2.4 GHz or 5.8 GHz cordless phone, need to upgrade to newer DECT 6 phone system since DECT 6 would not interfere with your router.

"Optimal Setup" posts for your reference

If after Router - viewtopic.php?t=12403

If before Router - viewtopic.php?t=9536#p66155
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by thunderbird » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:08 pm

Page malfuction
Last edited by thunderbird on Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by thunderbird » Fri Nov 30, 2012 4:11 pm

PKR wrote:Well, unfortunately that did not work. Leaving me to suspect that the problem is with the Ooma itself. I'm again on the verge of giving up on Ooma ... it has been one thing after another to the point where I have to wonder if its worth the hassle. Anyone care to talk me out of it ?
Connecting Modem-Router-Ooma should eliminate the Ooma Telo from pulling down your Home's LAN. In this case the Ooma Telo Internet port is connected with a network cable to one of the Router LAN ports. Nothing is connected to the Ooma Telo Home port, except to temporarily connect a computer to access Ooma Setup, if change/adjustments are required.

PKR
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:09 pm

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by PKR » Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:59 am

This is exactly how I connected my Ooma in the first place, but Ooma strongly advised me to set it up Modem - Ooma - Router. I'll give it a try and report back.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Can Ooma interfere with internet ...

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:29 am

PKR wrote:This is exactly how I connected my Ooma in the first place, but Ooma strongly advised me to set it up Modem - Ooma - Router. I'll give it a try and report back.
I have an ooma Hub and a Telo connected this way and it never slows the internet down, even when a call is placed.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Post Reply