HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
User avatar
napochan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:58 am

HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Post by napochan » Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:55 am

Are there any interference issues using the new HD2 with an existing DECT 6.0 system? My current configuration is the ooma Telo connected to a Panasonic DECT 6.0 system supporting 5 remote handsets.

My interest in the HD2 is to access my premier subscription features without having to go to the Telo base.

Thanks...
...Tom
Config: ooma Telo, Premier subscription; Panasonic DECT 6.0

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Post by thunderbird » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:23 am

napochan wrote:Are there any interference issues using the new HD2 with an existing DECT 6.0 system? My current configuration is the ooma Telo connected to a Panasonic DECT 6.0 system supporting 5 remote handsets.

My interest in the HD2 is to access my premier subscription features without having to go to the Telo base.

Thanks...
I have used both for some time without problem.

User avatar
napochan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:58 am

Re: HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Post by napochan » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:48 am

thunderbird wrote:
napochan wrote:Are there any interference issues using the new HD2 with an existing DECT 6.0 system? My current configuration is the ooma Telo connected to a Panasonic DECT 6.0 system supporting 5 remote handsets.

My interest in the HD2 is to access my premier subscription features without having to go to the Telo base.

Thanks...
I have used both for some time without problem.
Thanks thunderbird. I guess another option to easily access the premier features is to use the wireless adapter to move the Telo to a more convenient location in the house. Right now it's in the basement in order to be the first connection to the cable modem. The WiFi router is daisy chained to the Telo to provide priority to voice communications in times of high bandwidth.

The question for the wireless adapter is how that priority can be maintained with the Telo as one of a handful of active WiFi connections rather than in the wired priority position?

Cheers...
...Tom
Config: ooma Telo, Premier subscription; Panasonic DECT 6.0

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Post by thunderbird » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:56 am

napochan:
For a Modem-Router-Ooma connection, (includes Wi-Fi connection):
Usually the router is setup to provide priority for best Quality of Service for VoIP devices, if the router has that function. Most newer better Routers have that function.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Post by lbmofo » Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:59 am

With routers with QoS functionality, you can give your Telo wireless adapter highest priority by assigned IP (you can reserve a specific IP) or via MAC address of the Telo wireless adapter.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
napochan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:58 am

Re: HD2 Handset - DECT 6.0 Compatibility

Post by napochan » Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:27 am

lbmofo wrote:With routers with QoS functionality, you can give your Telo wireless adapter highest priority by assigned IP (you can reserve a specific IP) or via MAC address of the Telo wireless adapter.
thunderbird wrote:napochan:
For a Modem-Router-Ooma connection, (includes Wi-Fi connection):
Usually the router is setup to provide priority for best Quality of Service for VoIP devices, if the router has that function. Most newer better Routers have that function.
OK, thanks. I just found the QoS setup on my router and it provides a voice device option for a given MAC address.

It's great to have options :)
...Tom
Config: ooma Telo, Premier subscription; Panasonic DECT 6.0

Post Reply